We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT value!! Personable helpful delightful caring owners!”
Review of Castaway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaway Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at 3 places for our 8 nights in Rarotonga and this was definitely the best value and if we come again, we would stay the entire time at the Castaway. Michelle is over the top delightful and Paul was hardworking and stayed on top of having everything available at breakfast. The place was clean, large, and having a kitchen really saved us money for a few meals which can be expensive eating out.
FYI - we also stayed at the Edgewater and the Rarotongan which are nice resorts, but not worth the extra money. The Rarotongan did have better snorkeling right at their beach, but you could take a bus to go there and save much more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Castaway Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 251 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband Kevin and I stayed for a week and had a lovely time, we would recommended this place to all our family and friends. We are planning on going back this year. Paul and Michelle are excellent hosts and will help with any queries you have. Nice pool to swim in and the bar righ beside it. Very relaxing and quiet, with no children a bonus.
Thanks Pam

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

my husband and I have just been staying at the castaway..We were very happy with it, very comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff who give gret informative advice on things to do, and will also book things for you.
The location is good (although not very close to Muri beach) but great place to chill without feeling like you are in one of the big resorts. The food is sublime! Overall we would highly recommend staying at the castaway resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fantastic resort to stay at - the 'no kids' policy is great ! We met another couple who were trying to 'get away' for a break but they were staying at one of the larger resorts on the island which included kids (and had a lot more guests), and after talking to us they wished they had gone to the Castaway instead.
Location is good - there's a takeaway across the road, a store just near it and the bus stop just outside as well. We found the food was really nice, the Happy Hour was 'happy' and Paul & Michelle were brilliant hosts.
I could quite easily stay there for ages and would recommend this resort to anyone who wanted a break from hassle & hustle.

Room Tip: There are two units by the beach - it's great to be able to go straight out onto the sand !
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had an awesome stay here over Christmas. Michelle and Paul are so friendly and helpful and Michelle went out of her way to assist us with anything that we needed. Nothing was too much trouble. They have only been at the resort for a few months and are gradually redecorating and upgrading the rooms. The food in the restaurant is excellent and we ate far too much during our stay! This was our first visit to Rarotonga and if we go back again we would love to stay at Castaways.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 & 9 are right on the beach
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wensnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed @ the Castaway Villas recently to attend a family wedding. The rooms were tidy and clean. The air-con was excellent. Service was always with a smile and I liked the local Cook Island beer. Meals were good and we had lots of use of the pool to cool off.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMCCREA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We found Paul and Michelle and their staff to be outstanding hosts. Our unit was nice and clean with everything we needed. Happy hour each evening was very relaxing. We enjoyed it so much here in August 2012 we are coming back in April 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for the units nearest the beach
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveMcDowell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
1.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
159 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Black Pearl at Puaikura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort

Address: Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Castaway Beach Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range: $128 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Resort - located on the sunset and sheltered west coast of Rarotonga, this small adult only resort offers fully self catering accommodation at cost effective rates. Featuring a mix of rooms and villas with views over the pool, white sandy beach, and pristine lagoon, Castaway has something to suit any traveller. All rooms are air conditioned for comfort and are equipped with full amenities. Castaway boasts two restaurants and bars; poolside dining at Crusoes Restaurant & Bar with a themed night menu or dine on the beach with your toes dipped in the sand at Wilsons Beach Bar, fantastic beach location, relaxed ambience, swimming pool, complimentary daily tropical breakfast, snorkelling equipment, kayak, and beach towels. In walking distance to nearby restaurants, car rental companies, and a convenience store located opposite the Resort for your last minute supplies or grocery needs. Onsite parking is available with access to street parking nearby. A bus stop is located directly outside the resort for guests who want to take a bus ride to main town Avarua or a circle tour of the island. Castaway Resort was voted a finalist in the Air New Zealand Cook Islands Tourism Industry Awards in 3 categories; Best Self Contained 3 Star Property, Best Bar & Restaurant, and Best Customer Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing