We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In a word - Relaxation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castaway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castaway Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“In a word - Relaxation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our family stayed here and found it so relaxing. The new owners are working hard to make Castaway a top choice again. We liked the size (great personal sercice and got to know other guests)and location and found all ammenities clean and tidy. Recommended,

Room Tip: Beachside rooms are almost on the beach - just what we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felix150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    52
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
142
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We spent 4 beautiful days at this lovely little treasure. The owners Paul and Michelle were in there 3rd week of new ownership. The rooms were neat and tidy, and a nice size. Excellent service from the staff, and the owners were never too busy to stop and have a chat about life back in NZ, and share an ale or 2. The place has everything, The beach, pool, bar, bus stop right out front, and the best chef on the Island. We will be returning in December for a much longer stay. We highly recommend this resort, it is diffidently the place to be in Rarotonga.

Room Tip: We had a pool side villa, which we preferred. But the Beach front ones looked nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leaia Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

came back from Castaways sunday 20th May after 6 days holiday, Paul and Michelle took over on the Thursday night they have big plans for castaway, excellant service and rooms and yes the cocktails by the pool were great.will prob go back next year to stay again, highly reccomend this resort. Thanks to paul and Michelle for your help if you read this say hello to our adopted cat.
.

Room Tip: stayed in a poolside suite room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joclyn255111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort

Property: Castaway Resort
Address: Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Castaway Beach Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Resort - located on the sunset and sheltered west coast of Rarotonga, this small adult only resort offers fully self catering accommodation at cost effective rates. Featuring a mix of rooms and villas with views over the pool, white sandy beach, and pristine lagoon, Castaway has something to suit any traveller. All rooms are air conditioned for comfort and are equipped with full amenities. Castaway boasts two restaurants and bars; poolside dining at Crusoes Restaurant & Bar with a themed night menu or dine on the beach with your toes dipped in the sand at Wilsons Beach Bar, fantastic beach location, relaxed ambience, swimming pool, complimentary daily tropical breakfast, snorkelling equipment, kayak, and beach towels. In walking distance to nearby restaurants, car rental companies, and a convenience store located opposite the Resort for your last minute supplies or grocery needs. Onsite parking is available with access to street parking nearby. A bus stop is located directly outside the resort for guests who want to take a bus ride to main town Avarua or a circle tour of the island. Castaway Resort was voted a finalist in the Air New Zealand Cook Islands Tourism Industry Awards in 3 categories; Best Self Contained 3 Star Property, Best Bar & Restaurant, and Best Customer Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing