We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atupa Orchid Units
Nearby Hotels
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$342
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise Beach Bungalows(Rarotonga)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$150
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Black Pearl at Puaikura(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$276
$268
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Castaway Resort(Rarotonga)(Great Value!)
$173
$156
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$438
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
2
6
2
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
6
2
1
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 17 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Arrived after midnight from the airport and realised it was a bad choice. The room was tacky, dark, unclean, and zoo like. But as we were due to leave the next day we figured, for one night, how bad could it be?

Sleeping was difficult because of the strong musty smell coming from the mattress. At 5am, my wife woke me because she could feel something crawling on her. I got up to check who was sharing the bed with us, and in the process was bitten on the hand by a centipede.

We left the room after that, and later the same morning told the owner Ingrid about it. Her response, or lack thereof, demonstrated poor service. Worst hotel experience I've ever had. If you are somehow still determined to stay here, double check the prices before you agree to the room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank twotaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

I chose this place on the basis of online information. I had never been to a Pacific islands other than Hawaii. I had 5 days in the Cook Islands, chosen because the airline agent said it was a pretty place.
Ingrid met me at the airport, and left me at the door of a tiny apartment - very middle class. There was nothing fancy, but it was clean little place with a queen bed & small couch, a fan, a bath with shower, and a kitchen corner. I also hard a little porch with furniture and a barbeque., and a yard with visiting chickens.
After a nap, I walked a hundred yards or so to a small store and stocked my little kitchen.
Later I caught the bus at the end of the driveway and circled the island. I rode that bus, with it's barefoot driver, every day. As I'd wait for the bus, local people would offer me a ride - to town, or to other things.
One day Ingrid took me for a tour of the island. She knew a lot about the history, and she loved the place.
One day we went to see black pearls - at the home of a woman friend. I'd had a look at store prices and these were more reasonable.
Another night we attended a wonderful dance competition, teams from all over the Cook Islands drummed and danced.
This was a good experience for me. I wanted to see what life was like - to get a littleidea of what it was to live there.
Now, Rarotonga is on the back side of the date line, my destination, Auckland, is on the other side. I was due to leave at midnight, and got confused about which night. Ingrid dropped me off at the airport the required 2 hours early. Nothing opens, nothing moves until an house before the flight. When I got to the airline desk & learned that my flight was the next night, I called Poor Ingrid who picked me up again at 11:30 and brought me home. Next night she again gamely delivered me to the airport, with a little checking, "You're sure, now, that this is right?"
In summary, an excellent experience, because of a knowlegable and welcoming hostess, and a comfortable home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

The lady that we dealt with was incredibly inappropriate and rude during our short stay at this budget hotel. I don't ever think that I've had a worse experience at a hotel, and we have travelled extensively.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank madk325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

This is a gem of a location for the budget traveller. It is on the back road (are metua) in Rarotonga. It is a 10 min walk to Nikao and slightly less than this to town (Avarua). Set up a long driveway the units are very quiet at night. Each unit is fully equiped for self-catering, spacious and super clean (service daily). There is no view to speak of but this is reflected in the low price. The gardens are very nice tho. The owners are super helpful and a great source of advice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyCookIsAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews