We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dry waterfall with rubbish”

Ranked #26 of 67 things to do in Rarotonga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reachable by hiking trail or four-wheel vehicle, Rarotonga's only fall is also known as Papua Waterfall, because water from the Papua stream spills down the cliff into a beautiful swimming hole.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dry waterfall with rubbish”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

No signposting and no water and overflowing rubbish bins poor road does not compare with waterfalls on NZ

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    85
    179
    84
    43
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wigmore's Waterfall”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Obviously Rarotonga hadn't had much in the way of rain, as the waterfall was darn near empty. Would have to go back to appreciate the waterfall.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mozzie Hell!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Only the brave should attempt the walk to the waterfall. As soon as you park your car or scooter, the mozzies descend in number and attitude... Even 80% DEET deterrent doesnt work (or is it just my blood?). I'd give it a miss unless scratching is a favoured hobby.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the hike”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited the waterfall in October 2012, the waterfall was pretty well dried up and lots of mosquitos. We used mosquito repellent but that was not enough. I would skip this one

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tcjerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Can say we've seen it..”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Not easy to find. We had to ask locals - but if you can find the Wigmore store it's not far from there, turn left at the abandoned Sheraton Hotel (which we actually found far more interesting than the waterfall). We didn't consider swimming in it, it was a bit murky for us though one other guy was. Not a lot of water that day but I've seen photos that suggest its better after the big rains. Still, it was something on our list of 'must do's' and we did it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wigmore's Waterfall also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Wigmore's Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing