We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Maire Nui Botanical Gardens
Ranked #5 of 67 things to do in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the south coast of the island, these gardens contain many local plants and flowers that are not only beautiful but have medicinal uses.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We happened to be staying across the street from the gardens, so we stopped by to walk through a few times. The gardens are beautiful and full of amazing tropical pants. Great to see local plants that you might not get a chance to see otherwise. The plants are beautiful and it was fun to explore around and get lost. Very peaceful.

Helpful?
Thank SomePersonHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    132
    45
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
napier
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

These gardens were beautiful, spectacular plants and flowers.
Amazing banana trees, crab flowers and other great plants!
Beautiful cafe too.

Helpful?
Thank donnaf1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A unique garden experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had a morning tour of these wonderful gardens and had a marvelous time with the owner explaining all the organic details of the gardens. We had a coconut demonstration and wonderful fresh fruit tasting from the garden - Magnificent well worth the visit. I believe that they put on a wonderful grill at night as well but unable to take part as were on a cruise ship
They have a 'honesty box' for donation to cover costs

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aussiebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stunning gardens....”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My 4th visit to Raro and I've finally made it round Maire Nui..... took loads of pics of the breath-taking planting around the property which I won't post on here... you'll have to go see for yourselves!
Went on an overcast day and we were the only people there. Completely stunning and well worth a wander. If you go on a day that the Hidden Grill is open for lunch, I thoroughly recommend that you stop there on the way out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ukkird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

From our very first visit, we knew this was a special place. Lunch was refreshing & delicious... Then came the gardens, a vision! The mission statement is organic & educational, and the gardens exude this with integrity. If you are fortunate enough you may bump into the Head Gardener (& owner) Hinano, who is passionate about her purpose & inspires many. The following year we were blessed to exchange our wedding vows at Maire Nui Gardens, where the staff were more than perfect & our special day purely magickal. Meitaki Maata.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maire Nui Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
Ngatangiia, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Maire Nui Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing