We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“polluted?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Muri Lagoon

Muri Lagoon
Book In Advance
$59*
and up
Half-Day Muri Lagoon BBQ Lunch Cruise including Snorkeling
Ranked #5 of 67 things to do in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the island's most beautiful locations, this lagoon and beach is a popular destination for swimming and snorkeling.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“polluted?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Was told by a local that the water quality was poor here and that was the was it appeared. Fun walking over to the island at low tide, which is also where the lagoon cruise has lunch. Went to the muri club hotel to get a cocktail and nice place to people watch but not the best for snorkling by a long mark.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank trigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    124
    42
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

beautiful place - still dreaming of it
beautiful easy access islands - always warm
few dangers or hazards
a few fish
safe as

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawksbay
1 review
“"FANTABULOS!!!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

During my stay on Rarotonga I visited the Muri market and I met a few people from around the globe and just enjoyed it. I really enjoyed the Sweet and Sour Chicken and Teriyaki Chicken at the market and loved it. Everybody should try these meals. I would recommend this as the "BEST"

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baybee_Teeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful but no fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent the day here snorkeling but hardly saw any fish at all. That was a bit disappointing. It's a beautiful setup and lots of activity which explains the lack of fish. Great to suntan here and hire canoes or those paddle boards.

Helpful?
1 Thank KScheepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rent a paddle board or kayk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Absolutely stunning waters with great coral life. Cruise it with your love or by yourself, or just lay about. I needed water shoes for the sea slugs everywhere (gross) but paddling out to the tiny lagoon islands was unforgettable

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muri Lagoon also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Avarua, Rarotonga
 

Been to Muri Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing