We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Muri Lagoon

Muri Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.91*
and up
Half-Day Muri Lagoon BBQ Lunch Cruise including Snorkeling
Ranked #7 of 67 things to do in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the island's most beautiful locations, this lagoon and beach is a popular destination for swimming and snorkeling.
Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We did not stay here because we wanted great snorkeling off the beach, however websnorkeled to the island. There is some nice spots, but more wind surfing and paddle boarding. Much nicer when you fall to not fall on coral.

There still is some good snorkeling and enjoyed it, but glad we did not stay there

Helpful?
1 Thank jimandthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    152
    63
    22
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Enjoyed the beach and the aspects of the little islands in the lagoon made it a great and unique spot for the day lots of resort, restaurants and activities to choose from

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank edwardsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I loved it here, and we came here often during our stay just to walk around, sit on the beach, and relax. It was a bit windy during our stay, and Muri beach is on the windier side of the island (or so I heard), but don't let that discourage you, try to find a sheltered spot, sit back and enjoy watching the kite surfers. The snorkeling here is OK, I mean its not bad, but compared to other islands in the Cooks, this one is just OK. I still had fun, swam out to the Motus and relaxed. Oh and don't be scared of swimming out to the Motus, they really aren't that far away, if you can swim well, you should be fine.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SomePersonHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is definitely the best beach in terms of beauty on the island but don't expect the best snorkelling you will be disappointed! Snorkelling is better on other beaches in the island. But a must to visit!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best place to play”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We checked out the island and found this was the place to do water activities. There is snorkeling(the best on the island in my opinion), sailing, kayaking, stand up boarding,windsurfing and so much more. The large lagoon is great and safe if you take note of the tidal flow(always check with the locals before going in the water if you are unsure,just like you should anywhere in the world). You can walk out to the nearby Motu at most tides. Most boat tours are here and the best resorts also. Some activities are free when you stay at local resorts but otherwise reasonable fees are charged.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muri Lagoon also viewed

 
Ngatangiia, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Muri Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing