We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intense but worth it!”

Ranked #9 of 67 things to do in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tall, rocky pinnacle can be spotted from several locations on the island and is a favorite challenge for those who enjoy a good climb.
Southport, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Intense but worth it!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I did the cross island walk and stopped off to see the needle on the way. Amazing views of the coast in both directions and of the tree covered mountains across the inland areas. It was a very intense walk with some tricky slippery sections, steep climbs among the roots of trees and interesting stream crossings. Even though it was hard work, it was well worth the effort and we would certainly do it again next time. The path is well marked with orange arrows so difficult to lose your way. We didn't go with a guide which meant we could go at our own pace and take our time and enjoy the views. It was definitely worth the effort.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamsin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    60
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Rarotonga”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Cross-Island Trek (a.k.a. Te Rua manga, a.k.a. The Needle) is awesome, and I definitely recommend it to any reasonably fit people visiting Rarotonga who want a little adventure. My wife and I completed this hike in about five hours during a short (i.e. 1-night) layover in the Cook Islands on our way to New Zealand. We landed in Rarotonga early in the morning, and by mid-day we were on our way across the island. It definitely makes for a long day, but if you itinerary is similar and you have a day to spend on the Island, this is a great way to spend that day!

We started as recommended on the north side of the island. The start of the trail is easy to find .. just follow instructions in the other TripAdvisor reviews, or look on Google for more information about how to find the trail. I also linked a fairly useful (though not official) website to this review.

The trail is actually pretty easy to follow for the most part. We read some reviews on here that highly recommend going with a guide, but we had no trouble following the trail for the entire length. A few comments on following the trail ...

- The trail is marked with orange triangles. If you hike for a little while and it starts to get rough, and you don't see any orange triangles, go back to the last triangle and see if there's a more developed path. There were a couple of times we ended up on the wrong path, but it was pretty obvious when we hadn't seen a marker.
- There is one stretch near the beginning with no signs. You definitely feel like you're on the path because it's a trail going somewhere, but there are no markers. No worries, keep going as long as the path is developed, and you'll see the markers.
- There is one other area after the summit on the way down where the trail seems to end, and the most obvious way to go is sort of straight down a really steep part that drops off into standing water. Don't go this way .. the trail actually goes up the hill to the left, and the orange markers start up again.
- Definitely go from north to south. If you start in the south, I think you'll have a much harder time following the markers.


A few other general comments ...

- As I mentioned, it took us about 5 hours to complete the trek at a pretty good pace. This is not an easy hike, but it's not too challenging either. We had great weather ... if it's raining, this could be a pretty tricky hike for footing.
- It's worth the short detour to the very top (i.e. to the Needle). Say hi to our friend "Kitten" up there.
- The hike ends at a "waterfall" on the south side of the island. This "waterfall" does not exist year round. Just don't be disappointed if it's not there!
- You can catch the Bus on the south side and take it back to the starting point. It comes once an hour in the clockwise and counter-clockwise directions.

Overall .. definitely recommend. Have fun!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank furf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pa's Walk's”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went to Rarotonga having heard about the "across the island" track. We went on the Jungle track with a very knowledgeable guide named 'Pa'. He was just brilliant. He has his own hospital in town that the locals visit - he says he is a herbalist. Other than being a little quirky he was an excellent guide. He could see that I was suffering from the steep 400m ascent in the heat. (He does recommend a reasonable level of fitness - I was substantially slower going uphill than the rest of the group and not overly fit). He recommended a break - water, vitamin c etc. before continuing. He provided lots of knowledge about the local plants and their uses. As nutrients, insect repellants, shampoo etc. When we took a break near Rua Manga (the needle) Pa was happy to take lots of photo's of the group. Often when tramping/hiking - you can be quite rushed - Pa allows plenty of time for you to hike at your own pace and take your photo's at leisure. It rained on the descent from the needle which made it quite slippery. I would probably recommend tramping/hiking boots but we were quite comfortable in sneakers and others within our guided group wore sports-sandals ie. teva's and sandshoes (although the latter had less grip and weren't overly practical once it rained). As the highest points are sometimes in cloud - rain is always a possibility. A beautiful waterfall at the end of the track, nice lunch, and fruit to snack on mid-way. All we really needed to take was a big bottle of water and a camera. Pa has a fairly substantial first-aid kit, but use your common-sense and take whatever you think you may need. My husband and I would say that this track was the highlight of our trip and recommend "Pa's Walk's" to anyone visiting Rarotonga. Having a guide was well worth the money (we tramp in NZ and would not usually have a guide). But he provides a great service - he picks you up from anywhere on the island and drops you home again (or town if you wish). He knows the track, and although the track is marked, it is not as well marked as you would expect in NZ, especially at a few of the water crossings. Great trip with loads of local flavour!!!!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Wreckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome view and well worth the effort”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not for the faint-hearted or those without much agility. You need to walk up through the roots of the trees and you go up really fast. Must bring water with you and some food for energy but the views are your reward. Much of the walk is undercover so you dont get too much sun either. Watch out for the roosters at the top - they are pretty cheeky!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank naturoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Phew what a trek!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I understand why they say you need a guide to climb this track!

Bring plenty of water and snacks as it takes a while and some parts are tricky so watch your step! Beautiful location but make sure you are of moderate to high fitness as the climbs and slopes are tricky and you will need to be fairly agile.
Totally worth the clim though as absolutely amazing and the waterfall is stunning.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steffy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Rua Manga (The Needle) also viewed

 
Ngatangiia, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Te Rua Manga (The Needle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing