We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family climb”

Ranked #12 of 66 things to do in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tall, rocky pinnacle can be spotted from several locations on the island and is a favorite challenge for those who enjoy a good climb.
Whangarei
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family climb”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this climb - even our 7 year old who is very clumsy managed it with a bit of encouragement. Great view from the top, even a cheeky rooster! fun scrambling up the hills pulling on the vines and interesting plants, we got the guide book from the local bookshop which helped and we didn't get lost like some other people who went the next day after us, could have managed Pa's across the island treck after all and wish we had done it as we had done the hard part. Well worth it, one of the best things we did in Rarotonga

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    57
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Probably the highlight of our trip to Rarotonga. It was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle (relatively speaking of course) of the coast and head to the hills on the cross island trek. The needle is the summit of the trek and provides coast to coast views, albeit, the majority blocked from the other imposing mountains on the island. Red tailed turns circling overhead and mountain summits above the low lying clouds are other memorable views.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jnbmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good walk”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is a good walk, if the weather has been dry. YOu can carry on and walk right across the island. I would not be climbing the needle itself, a bit dangerous, unless you are very experienced or a rock climber.

Helpful?
1 Thank KelvinPassfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of a kind”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Very interesting side trip with Rarotonga Safari and our guide "Mr. Hopeless"..

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Demas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karamea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“wot a view”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

a great walk and not that strenuous.and then theres the views.
WOW!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Rua Manga (The Needle) also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Te Rua Manga (The Needle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing