We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, good location, awesome holiday!”
other traveler has booked this property
Avaro House & Pool by night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Avaro House & Pool by night
Kitchen  Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Avaro House & Pool by night
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Evening
Bedroom 2
Upstairs Patio
At night...
Bedroom 3
Extra Bed
Bedroom 1
Upper Patio
Dining
Lounge Kitchen
Sea View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Yvette M
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house, good location, awesome holiday!”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was the 2nd visit for my husband and I to Rarotonga but we were very excited to be taking our kids with us (aged 19 and 16). As we were keen on everyone having their own space we opted for a holiday rental home and spent some time picking what we hoped would be the perfect spot for us. We were not disappointed!
Avaro house was perfect for all our needs. The teens had their our own bedrooms (big plus) and my husband and I had an enormous bedroom with ensuite. The house was kitted out with everything we needed. Whilst we didn't eat in too often, it was great having a full kitchen and large dinning and lounge area.
Tony (the Manager) was great. He checked in with us on day 2 to ensure we had everything we needed and even went out and bought us an extra blanket as we had a couple of cooler nights (greatly appreciated by our daughter). He also suggested some great restaurants, shows and sights and booked us in for the Highland Paradise night which was sensational and enjoyed by all.
Whilst not the best swimming beach side of the island, you are not far from Muri and other great swimming locations...besides you have a fantastic pool if you feel like staying at home.
Thanks Tony and Avaro House...hope to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heaps of space and comfortable.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
Kia Orana and thanks for your review-we do appreciate all feedback. Very glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can accommodate you when you next visit Paradise.
Kia Manuia
Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for a break”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed with our three adult children in the main house. The smaller unit was not occupied so we had the pool to ourselves. The pool was a hit. Went snorkelling along the reef in front of the house. There were lots of fish on the outside of the reef but we found better snorkelling off the Rarotonga Hotel as it was more sheltered from the weather and there were plenty of fish to see on the inside of the reef.
It was handy having a 24 hour Superette across the road although products a little more expensive than the supermarkets in town.
It was good having the cooking facilities & BBQ to do our own cooking.
The neighbours roosters were a bit noisy in the morning.
Tony, our host was friendly and helpful.
We took our own snorkelling gear but it would be a bonus if this was available for loan as the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having our own space
Liked least: Uncomfortable sofa
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2015
Many thanks for your review -- Glad you enjoyed the property and I hope to see you next time you visit Paradise.
Kia Manuia
Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2015
Kia orana guys and thank you for that-- Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to Paradise.
It really is very unusual to have mozzie problems at this property -- unfortunately they are a fact of life in the tropics at times.

Kia Manuia
Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kerrie E
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Loved the pool area”
Reviewed December 5, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Arrived in the middle of the night and Tony had left the lights on and key as promised. The cot was not there on arrival but came the next day after speaking to Tony. Unfortunately no linen came with it.
The house was roomy and comfortable. We particularly loved the outdoor area with the big pool , deck and sun lounges. Ate all our meals out here.
Thought the location was good - not far to Muri Beach amenities and the 24 hour store almost across the road came in very handy.
Would like to see new mattresses on some of the beds - they were very uncomfortable.
Overall we had a fantastic time staying at Avaro House and would definitely stay again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2014
Kia Orana and thank you for that -- sorry re the late arrival of the cot and we hope to see you in Paradise again one day.

Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay B
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“AWESOME!!!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

What a great place to stay! We hired the house and cottage and everyone was happy. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the property
Liked least: Trying to work the gas oven
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2014
Kia Orana
We are glad you enjoyed the house & cottage many and thanks for your review-much appreciated.

See you next time.

Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentWill...
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great comfortable relaxing stay-close to Avarua, ample space for the 3 couples”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Great location handy to Super Brown 24/7 store. Management supplied everything needed, totally self catering if you want, or a 5 minute drive to a myriad of bars and restaurants in Avarua and beyond. 10 mins to Muri with it's bars and restaurants.
Spacious interior and large pool-side decks make lounging an excellent choice!
Very pleasant 10 days, thanks Tony!

Neighbouring property sleeps 2 more couples- ideal for large groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and pool
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2014
Kia Orana and thanks for that-much appreciated.

See you next time you visit Paradise.

Kia Manuia
Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish M
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location and good spacious accomodation”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A good house with 3 generous sized bedrooms and large spacious communal living areas, great outdoor flow and nice pool. The house was clean and had perfectly fine linen and plenty of towels (no face clothes) but separate pool/beach and bathroom towels. Good sized kitchen. House is about 4km from town and about 10km from Muri beach - we had good sea views but the ocean here isn't really suited to swimming. We had a car so it was really easy to get around and we liked that it was situated in between the places we hung out. It is almost directly across from a small supermarket called super brown - it is open 24 hours and had the cheapest supplies (cheaper than the big supermarket in town and roadside stands) - very handy!!

If we returned and booked a house I would rebook avaro.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2014
KIa Orana and thank you for your review-- it is appreciated.
See you next time you visit paradise.
Kia Manuia
Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing