We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rate fishing trip”

Marlin Queen Fishing Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
$126.64*
and up
Shared Fishing Charter in the Cook Islands
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WELCOME TO MARLIN QUEEN FISHING CHARTERS!Serious about Big Game Fishing? Great so are we!Fishing aboard Marlin Queen is the ultimate game fishing experience in Rarotonga, Cook Islands. A successful blend of Rarotonga's best known and most trusted Captain (Junior) with a purpose built deep sea boat means a day out on the ocean doesn't get any better! We work extra hard to make sure your fishing trip is an unforgettable experience! Rain, hail or shine - we go fishing! If it's your dream to catch big fish, you will not find a more dedicated team to help you do it! As soon as you leave the Avatiu Harbour the water gets very deep, very quickly so no time is wasted in getting those lures into the water to find the "Big Ones". Sit back, relax and enjoy the spectacular view of the island in a safe and relaxed atmosphere - unless of course you are on our "early bird" trip which leaves at 6am (and it's still dark) to the FAD's to meet the Yellow Fin Tuna when they rise for feeding. The early bird catches the worm - and so do we! The fishing in Rarotonga is great all year round and our well equipped boat has everything you will need. Whether you're a novice or experienced angler your enjoyment is guaranteed. We provide refreshments, snacks, comprehensive safety equipment, flush toilet and use the latest Shimano fishing gear. Captain Junior is famous for making his own lures - guaranteed to attract the Big Ones! Shared and private charters are available and you can choose whether you want to fish for a 1/2 day or full day. Our minimum is one person and for larger groups (over 10) we will organise your own "inter-boat" fishing competition, loads of fun for the competitive at heart. Want the "Ultimate Fishing Holiday"? We specialise in complete fishing, accommodation and transport packages, tailor-made to suit your individual or group requirements. We have a great range of accommodation and transport options to suit your every need and budget, so sit back, relax and let us organise your dream fishing holiday. Don't wait until you arrive in Rarotonga to book your trip as demand is high - avoid disappointed, book your trip now!
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top rate fishing trip”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Went out on the morning trip. The crew were energetic and attentive, despite finishing at 1am that morning, having played a large marlin for 7 hours. Lots of Rarotongan humour. The crew ensured everyone caught fish, then filleted and shared it out at the end of the trip. Diane was awesome, from collecting us from our accomodation, to ensuring we had plenty of fish to take back for dinner. If you are planning on going fishing this is the one to pick. Thanks guys, Sue and Jim, Rotorua, NZ

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    16
    4
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a morning!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived at the boat well before dawn, soaking wet as the heavens opened up and the scooters offered little protection. Willie, the skipper, soon had us in wet weather gear to warm up, and off we went. Not the best day to be on the water with huge swells but Willie soon had us catching so many tuna the swell was forgotten. His skill and humour made for a memorable morning on the water and with 17 yellowfin, plenty of food for the gang. If there is one thing you do on Rarotonga, this is it. Friendly, skilled staff, good boats and plenty of fish. We had a chat with the owners the next day at the markets and they even offered us more fish if we needed it. Wow, customer service. Will be going out with them on my next trip for sure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wingnut63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinQueen, Owner at Marlin Queen Fishing Charters, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I remember that morning well as I saw you guys in the pouring rain on the way to the boat while I was picking some others up - your right it was bucketing down and I thought to myself "you guys are real troopers"! And I wasn't wrong - you did an awesome job out there fishing with Willie and bought in an awesome haul of Yellow Fin Tuna! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and we really look forward to meeting up with you again soon in Rarotonga - this time we will find that Marlin!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“9.9 out of 10!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Could only have been better if a Marlin had been caught rather than the 17 Tuna! Emailed Diane from NZ after recommendation from our accommodation (Lagoon Breeze) in Raro. Very prompt response, from there it just got better. Awesome early morning trip with skipper Willie - a credit to the business. Absolutely recommend this company for their efficiency, friendliness and knowledge of the sea. Thanks, Debbie & Possum, Taupo NZ

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebbieL528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinQueen, Owner at Marlin Queen Fishing Charters, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thanks for your awesome feedback. The guys were totally awesome on the boat and a huge amount of fun - Willie thoroughly enjoyed their company. Hope we will see you all back in Rarotonga again really soon and we will definitely go after that Marlin for you! Maybe the girls will go fishing this time and bring the good luck!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you only do one thing, go fishing with th 'Marlin Queen'!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

WOW. We have just arived back from Rarotonga and the thing that will stay with us, and especially with our 15 y.o son Jordan is the memory of the incredilbe people from the Marlin Queen.
From the moment we met the lovely Diane at the market and booked our first trip, to the time Jordan had completed his third trip, the service was magnificent. From 'Junior' who found the best fishing spots to Pauro who was so kind, knowlegeable and helpful ...and the fish...Jordan caught numerous large Tuna and on the final day a 20kg 'Mahi Mahi'. We had an great supply of the fresh sahimi, and Tuna for the BBQ. Everyone got some fish (as much as you wanted) so everyone who went on the boat came away with something).
The trip is very well priced, and GREAT value for money.
Honestly ... if you only spend out on one thing on your holiday .. go fishing with Marlin Queen.
(remember to take your motion sickness tablets)
Thanks guys ... Jordan, Jan & Glen

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jan388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinQueen, Owner at Marlin Queen Fishing Charters, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
I met this lovely family at the Saturday market and instantly saw the passion in an awesome young mans eyes! I could tell that Jordan was a mad keen fisherman and this is something we believe at Marlin Queen to nurture and grow in our young ones! Mum and Dad stuck it out for the first trip but after that we took Jordan for two other trips and he managed to hook up several nice fish into the bargain - one being his biggest ever fish! Really hope to see you guys back in Rarotonga again and keep up the great fishing Jordan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went out on Sunday afternoon which was great as everything else on the island is pretty much closed. Had such a great time, with only four of us on the boat we all managed to have a turn bringing in the "big ones". Our skipper and deck hand were enjoyable company and kept us all well feed, well organised and well prepared for the excitement of the day. Being able to take some of the catch home for dinner was an added bonus.

Booking the trip online was easy and the response from Dianne was timely, informative and very professional.

Looking forward to our next trip out where we might actually bring in the big one!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DINKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Queen Fishing Charters also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Marlin Queen Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing