We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landed a Great Tuna”

Seafari Fishing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seafari Game fishing Charters Rarotonga, Cook Islands.Largest catch record over 30 years."No Frills" but "Big Thrills" for the serious Fisherman.Seafari is the longest, most established charter boat in the waters of Rarotonga."Time Proven & Trusted"Canadian built, 34ft West Coast Trawler. A purpose built, strong, comfortable seaworthy boat."They don't build them like this any more"."Original & Best".Seafari continues to be regularly featured in print and TV media around the world and is successful today as she was nearly 30 years ago.We pride ourselves in offering a professional, friendly & safe service to all anglers.Shared charters are limited to just 6 people.Half & Full day charters available 7 days a week. We provide everything needed for a days fishing including Top Quality Gear, The best Shimano reels, full IGFA approved lines, full range of tried and proven lures including local and international variants. All gear fully serviced and maintained. Home catered Lunch. Full toilet facilities and Safety Equipment. Pick up and delivery on request.We target all Game fishing including Mahimahi (dolphin fish) Tuna, Marlin, Wahoo and Sailfish.Catch policy. Anglers keep some of the fish and the balance remains with the boat.Tailored Fishing Holiday packages available for group bookings. Let us do the work. We can organise and cater to your needs.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“Landed a Great Tuna”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Had a great day with Kevin and crew. Only on board a short time before we had fish on. Caught yellowfin tuna and mahimahi of decent size. Great feeding the GTs in the harbour while filleting the fish too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi7917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    8
    2
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It was awesome game fishing day for two of us.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

It was our first game fishing experience and the end of trip we left boat by a great fun. Even sea weaves hid us and get sea sick.
Thanks to Kevin , Sharon and Richard.
Charters provides : water, beverage and snacks. Also pickup and delivery available just ask. There is a sailing standard size washroom on boat just incase if you need. You might bring your heat,sun protector oil and camera.
If there is a catch(s) you get your share in fair..... Team cough a large beautiful Mahi mahi ,it was delicious too

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank managment5680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasoned traveller from Devon
Level Contributor
310 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“A serious game fishing boat and crew”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We hired Kevin's boat for a morning for my wife and I, we have been game fishing before but wanted to improve our chances of landing a decent fish as we would have all 5 rods to ourselves instead of sharing them between 5 people and taking a chance that the Rod that caught was ours!
Kevin and Richard were serious about catching a fish and after trying the FADS off Avarua were went further out looking for tuns and hopefully a Marlin.
After a while we hooked a big tuna but it threw the hook and got away. Another 2 hours and bang! It's a Marlin, jumped a couple of times and then 40 minutes of hard slog in the sun to get it in. Fantastic , my first big game fish!
It weighed in at 82Kilos and the sushi on the quayside provided by Sharon and the boys was delicious!
The Marlin steaks we took back to our self catering house were excellent both barbecued, curried and grilled.
Ala in all, a great day, a good fish, all well organised by Seafari- we'd would use them again...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chocky1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Live, Laugh, Love, Fish (but maybe not in that order)”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

It's the Happy Hookers third Rarotongan tour, all spent on the decks of MV Seafari and we're counting the sleeps till the fourth. Fishing every day is our dream and we are lucky enough to get to live it for a week. These guys make it happen by putting us on some serious fish, yellow fins inhaling plastics, doing the multiple strike Mahi Mahi macramé or ripening the mango's island style...we loved it all! Tallied up we boated fifty-eight fish for the week...It will live long in the Hooker folklore. So...when you go to paradise for a fish look these guys up!!!
Oh...and one last and perhaps for the Hookers most endearing thing. From when we arrive till sadly we have to leave, we get treated like we're family. That for us is a big part of what makes fishing in paradise so uniquely special. Sharon, Kev and Trent; simply a huge Hookers thank you for sharing, and in doing so making it the best fishing week of our lives.
PS don't mention the "L" word, not actually happy....LOL

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

A first time deep sea fishing trip in the South Pacific for both of us and we were treated like royalty. They usually have a minimum of 4 people to go out but they took just the 2 of us with 3 crew so we had the boat to ourselves. Trent told us right off the fishing was 90 % boredom and 10% chaos and he was exactly right. the first 45 minutes were a boat ride and then the first Mahi Mahi hit. Within 1/2 hour we landed a total of 5. Kevin and Trent knew where to go and we ended up with aching arms and an incredible memory and a fantastic dinner that night. I would say this is a charter that would please anyone no matter what level of experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2happybeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafari Fishing Charters also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Seafari Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing