We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth seeking out!”
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth seeking out!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Well and truly lived up to the reviews! We had to come back to satisfy cravings! Delicious tropical smoothie and the sandwiches are to die for - fresh fish and focaccia sandwiches with yummy lime mayo. My fav was the Mokos - seared tuna, my son's (11) the FOB - fried. Very friendly team of staff too. Thanks, a great memory from our trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank aflavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,484
    230
    27
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches EVER!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Can I just say first the ladies that work here are amazing and so passionate and enthusiastic..They are so friendly, engaging and happy - I didn't encounter anything like this anywhere else on the island. You are an awesome team!!!

The food is fresh, delicious and affordable. The best sandwich I have had anywhere. Make this a must do if you visit Rarotonga!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sandwich or salad with a view”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The Mooring is a cool spot for a light lunch. Food is ordered and prepared in colorful, modified shipping containers. It is served on picnic tables set out on a wooden deck. The menu offers a range of fish or chicken sandwiches or salads. The Turkish bread sandwiches are generously filled with fresh Mahi Mahi, tuna or chicken and are very tasty. The view over the Avana estuary is lovely but spoilt by the scruffy jetty area just in front of the deck. Friendly staff and the possibility of seeing a "tame" giant trevally add to the interest. Great on a fine day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best fob ever!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We rented a car and this was recommended by the locals and he said yo get the gob, fresh off the boat. It was the best fish sandwich ever! The bread is made daily and food was fresh and flavorful. You won't be disappointed if you eat here! It is by the water and charming.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyGreen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“All the reviews are true!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This place is the best! Great atmosphere, very friendly staff, heavenly good food and very well priced. Only advice would be to maybe start doing French fries for the kiddies who don't eat fish like my son who instead was given 'chicken' nuggets and said they were delicious! Sucker :-) thanks again ladies keep up the great work.

Helpful?
Thank AliceHeaslip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing