We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Delicious "On Board" Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Ranked #1 of 95 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, New Zealand, Polynesian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious "On Board" Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

While hiking we stopped here for lunch. The "on board" was Mahi Mahi that day......caught that morning and on our lunch plate that afternoon....AWESOMELY GOOD!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheWittes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,233
    166
    22
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had lunch here on our first day, how wonderful this was. My husband had a sandwich and I had a salad and smoothie. We both enjoyed this very much and we did not need anything more. The service was great and as for the location, just amazing. What a wonderful place to have a meal. It more than just a shipping container as a place to eat. Top marks!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Studee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“No. 1 Meal We Ate in Rarotonga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Forget those cheesy, overpriced dinner-on-the-beach places. This is where it's at. Super-laidback, picnic tables in the sun, right on the water, fish fresh off the boat, cooked to perfection, piled onto Turkish bread as large as your head, and served by a super-friendly Kiwi. Delicious. We loved every minute. Highly, highly recommended — don't leave Raro without stuffing your face here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gadfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“best sammy on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Whats the best sort of fish to eat? Fresh fish.

Discovered The Mooring into our second week on the island and OH MY GOSH- best sandwichs we have ever had. More of a giant burger than a sammy.
Generous servings of fresh fish with local salad ingredients and delicious homemade sauces. Definitely a must visit, I guarantee you will be going back again for lunch!

I would reccomend dining after 1pm to avoid the rush and also increase your chances of seeing Moko and his charter coming back in with their catch(your fish!)

They do not have a liqour licence but are happy for you to bring along your own.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best eating from a shipping container. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A must-do. Really good casual food. Lovely, friendly service staff. Even after traveling on a scooter in a downpour to get a sandwich they made the trip worthwhile with their smile and promise it would be sunny as ever by 4pm (note: they were right!). The F.O.B. was our top choice. Worth every fried fish calorie! Came back a second time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShawnaMcKinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing