We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Freshest”
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Freshest”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

An unassuming little joint near a local fishing club, had the freshest fish on the island. You gotta try the FOB. Visit early because they do not stay open late. Great food by great people, enough said.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willmc226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,483
    229
    27
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Lunch Spot”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had read all about The Mooring on TA and decided to check it out on our 1st day of a 1 month stay. I'm not sure just how many times we went back, but it was often!!
Everything other reviewers have said about the freshness, the taste and the value of this little gem is true. The service was friendly, helpful, and surprisingly quick, considering how busy they always were. We took the steady stream of customers as a good sign - people know a good thing when they try it!
We will definitely be back when we return to Raro. I'm still dreaming of the Hot and Spicy Tuna Steak on Salad.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank shellshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gotta try this place”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Top notch food at good pricing. Dont forget the smoothies.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkRoaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ZEALAND
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fresh off the boat!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Lovely lunch Turkish roll with fresh, fresh fish, salad and mayo - we'll come by again ...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NewZealandSascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great value, excellent location”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We found this place having read others comments in Trip Advisor. We just left Rarotonga today after a holiday from NZ and visited The Morring on 5 occasions!
The sandwiches in the fresh Turkish bread are just delicious. We tried the 'Fresh off the Boat' crumbed Mahi Mahi, the Cajun tuna, the hot n spicy and Rusty's chicken in a yummy paw paw salsa. All for $10-12!
You just cannot get better than this. The owner Jill and Mata are a pleasure to visit and Jill's husband Moko ensures that there is a plentiful supply of fresh fish which he catches each morning from his game fishing boat moored just in front of the well placed cafe.
Carmen and I cannot recommend this highly enough. Thanks Jill and Mata for complimenting out experience of Rarotonga.

Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing