We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill
Ranked #23 of 101 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Polynesian, Seafood, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill is on the site of the old Maire Nui Cafe set within the luxurious grounds of the Maire Nui Botanical Gardens. Now incorporating a stainless 'outside' Kitchen for night time, The Hidden Spirit offers holiday makers and locals alike a dining experience with a real point of difference on the island of Rarotonga. Specialising in fresh local produce (especially seafood) cooked in a local style but with a subtle influence of the Orient.Open:Monday-Friday 10am-4.30pmSaturday: Midday-4.30pmNights: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday: 6.30pm- 11.00pmBooking essential for night time grill.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Absolutely loved this place. My partner and I visited on the last day of our holiday and were not disappointed. We only wished we had tried it earlier. The food was fresh and a healthy alternative to a lot of other places on rarotonga. Such a beautiful setting and helpful staff. Definitely recommend the lemon meringue cheesecake and the paw paw was amazing. If only we could bring this place to Australia!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank el2belcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    75
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We'll enjoy a stroll around the gardens but leave time to taste the wares from the Cafe
Fresh Island style tropical salad, yummy cheese cake and tropical smoothie All organic.
Another must do

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mostly organic - great food”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting and good healthy clean food. Talk of organic but I saw use of cleaning product and bug repellant - I'm sure the gardens are organic but awareness of total greenie practices wouldn't go amiss. Food was awesome - so nice to get some fresh green options served without fries :-). I do recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular.”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The setting is etherial, just what you might imagine for your "South Pacific" experience! The gardens where you are served go on for acres, or hectares if you prefer, and are stunningly exotic with pools nd special tropical flower displays.....very impressive, although the chef in this case only rate a 6 or 7 out of a possible 10. (That was a rib eye, not a porterhouse, guys!) Still, never mind the misprinted menu, come here for the fest for the eyes as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank s1ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Hidden Spirit is nestled in the Botanical Gardens (Maire Nui) and much of the food at the cafe comes from the gardens. The lunch menu is not extensive but the food is mostly organic and very fresh and well presented, and the juices are brilliant! The atmosphere is lovely - peaceful and quiet with tables set well apart so you don't feel as if you're encroaching on your neighbour's conversation ... or meal. The prices are no more expensive that any other restaurant on the island and because of its location you don't feel rushed or pressured to leave or vacate the table for someone else, and you're welcome to sit and chat over a coffee.

The staff are lovely and will take time to explain the gardens and show you the photo album of the development and building of the gardens and cafe. Take time to wander around the gardens - they're beautifully laid out with tables hidden here and there and a lovely waterfall - the perfect spot for a quiet wedding.

We visited twice for lunch - unfortunately we didn't have time to try the dinner menu.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliffie_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing