We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill
Ranked #32 of 100 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Cafe, Grill, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill is on the site of the old Maire Nui Cafe set within the luxurious grounds of the Maire Nui Botanical Gardens. Now incorporating a stainless 'outside' Kitchen for night time, The Hidden Spirit offers holiday makers and locals alike a dining experience with a real point of difference on the island of Rarotonga. Specialising in fresh local produce (especially seafood) cooked in a local style but with a subtle influence of the Orient.Open:Monday-Friday 10am-4.30pmSaturday: Midday-4.30pmNights: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday: 6.30pm- 11.00pmBooking essential for night time grill.
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The gardens are gorgeous filled with beautiful tropical flowers and plants a very friendly cat (who I wanted to take home with me) such lovely warm staff. The best fruit smoothie I have ever had lovely for lunch and also ate dinner. Such tasty fresh dishes recommend the pork, rice and greens - tip take a phone or torch so convenient just across the road from the Litlle Poly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sydneyterminal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    70
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victor Harbor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A Hidden island cafe in a beautiful tropical botanical gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We recently visited Rarotonga and found the Hidden Spirit Cafe tucked away within lush tropical growth in the Maire Nui Gardens featuring exotic flowering gingers and heliconias, water features and much more. We chose salads for lunch, which consisted of home grown elements and drizzled with a superb herbal dressing. We finished our meal with what has been referred to as the a world's Best Cheese cake- and we were not disappointed- a fabulous lemon meringue -topped cheesecake, served with an amazing diverse fresh selection of tropical fruits and coconut and ice cream!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic food, setting and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Chanced upon this place for lunch after driving by and seeing a sign outside advertising the best cheesecake in Rarotonga, and as a result had the best meal of our entire stay. The day we visited was extremely hot and they directed us to the coolest spot in the garden under a beautifully crafted gazebo. We had the tropical salad, which was the perfect meal on a hot day - a combination of banana, pawpaw, coconut and poached chicken with a herb mayonnaise. It was amazing! My sister had the prawn salad with a sweet chilli dressing and thought it was divine. We couldn't leave without trying the infamous cheesecake, and it did not disappoint. The ladies are all lovely and the setting within the gardens is absolutely beautiful. Makes a lovely change from the beachside restaurants and cafes on the island. Prices are a bit steep - but then it is like that all throughout Rarotonga, and I would argue it's worth it here. We took a baby and a toddler for lunch, and although they do not cater specifically to them in their menu, they were very accommodating of them and we were able to share our meals with the toddler without a problem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobeluya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We found this by accident (didnt even think to look on trip advisor!). We did a walk around the botanic gardens one afternoon and thought it would be a lovely place to have dinner. When we arrived in for our meal, they had set us up in the gazebo and had lanterns around it. I nearly cried it was so beautiful. Great wines, fabulous service and the food was absolutely delicious (they even "built" a special vegetarian meal for our veg-head friend).

The surroundings were absolutely stunning and the general ambience just perfect. Nice touch - they brought out insect repellant for us because we'd stupidly left it at the hotel.

highly recommend this for both day time botanical views and the evening dining experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrollin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jurassic Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I walked into this place at dusk. The gardens were amazing, beautifully kept and landscaped, had a real Jurassic Park feel to it, amazing ly large and exotic plants and flowers. We had dinner there and the food was very good quality. timely service and Sammie was a very entertaining host.Good selection of doshes, reasonably priced, well presented and as I sadi, a fabulous setting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sooze v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Titikaveka, Rarotonga
 

Been to The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing