We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE!”
Review of Vai Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rarotonga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vai Villas
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“PARADISE!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our first visit to Rarotonga and on recommendation by friends who holiday here every year (for the past 8 years and who have stayed at many of the top resorts), this is the place to stay and we couldn't agree more. If you are looking for your own fully self-contained beachfront villa, this is definitely it. Well equipped, comfortable, clean and incredibly tranquil with the most breathtaking views. Owners are close by and are truly lovely people and only too happy to make your stay perfect.

Beach: Predominantly private, you really do feel like it's all yours and it's beautiful!

Water: Spectacular! Snorkeling, swimming, stand-up paddle board, kayaking heaven! Aqua blue and you can see clearly to the bottom. You're always surrounded by fish...perfect for snorkeling.

Restaurants: Less than a 5 minute walk along the beach is Vaima restaurant that was impressive on all accounts - food, service and location (our candlelit table was on the beach!). We would happily have eaten here every night! Although we did eat at LBV Cafe/restaurant which served exquisite French food, also a must.

Activities: The villas have an incredible large deck that overlooks the water (see pictures), snorkeling (bring your own as we did or use the equipment provided in your villa), kayaks (several to choose from).

Close by: Everything that you need for your stay, a large shop across the street with a great wine selection, a cafe that serves great BLTs, and fish & chip shop for quick snacks. The villas have a BBQ and the kitchens are fully equipped, so we purchased a lot of supplies from the local shop and from in town and cooked up a storm most days.

Also Do: A guided tour of Matutu Brewery, a local craft brewery that produces some of the best beer we've ever had. Their motto is "no crap added", so it's a great beer that you can only get on the island. Highly recommend you request Matutu wherever you dine so that this local brewery goes from strength to strength.

Weather: We went in June which is winter for the Cook Islands. Perfect temperature night and day, and only had heavy rainfall on the last two days, but this was broken with some sunshine and beautiful double rainbows.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sydney_Australian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woronora
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have been to the Cook Islands several times, Vai Villas is the best accommodation we have found by far. Vai Villas is close to shops, restaurants and pristine beaches. You have everything you need on site, full kitchen, laundry, barbeque. A great place for a relaxing break . I would not hesitate to recommend Vai Villas to anyone.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

What a beautiful spot! My husband and I spent 5 nights in Villa one (on the right hand side looking towards the lagoon) in late April and were blown away by the location, and the perfectly furnished and clean villa. We spent many hours relaxing on our private deck (comfy loungers and table/chairs) or the joint deck right out over the beach - the views of the garden through to the lagoon is amazing. The snorkelling just off the beach directly in front of the villa was fantastic - we tried a few other locations and found this to be the best one. Shared BBQ, laundry and kayaks were added bonuses, as well as the fresh fruit and selection of local beers left for us on arrival. There is an excellent restaurant 2 mins walk (down the road, or down the beach!) away called Vaaimas - book in advance and ask for a table on the beach; as well as Wigmores Superstone for groceries and petrol across the road, and a newish cafe called Cocolatte which has excellent breakfasts and iced coffee. Highly recommended for couples or a group of 4 (if you rent both villa 1 and 2).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Located at Rarotongas south side Titikaveka, slightly misleading Vai is less a Villa than two almost mirror-imaged ordinary, but very nice beachfront cottages. Inside one integrated and bright living- kitchen- and sleeping room, well equipped with all necessary things from washing machine to a huge grill for barbecue. Outside with a spacious terrace, shared garden and combined deck the two houses are perfect for family & friends, in case of individual renting Privacy can be somewhat limited. Certainly, best facility is an almost perfect beach just a step from the deck, where you can easily wind down and enjoy Kūki 'Āirani about half way between Tahiti and Tonga.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

we booked vai villas over the internet and the prompt replies to all my emails was impressive.the villa looked exactly like the images shown on the web site, so no need to fear that its all trick photography.
we were delighted at the cleanliness, location and facilities the villa offered.the deck and lagoon was a lovely place to chill out and relax.
in regards to the privacy and sheer curtain issue raised in previous review, i can assure you you have privacy . there was another couple staying in the other villa.there is a curtain covering a window in your room and a 3 lattice screens that separates the deck.we didnt hear them at all, and saw them briefly sitting on their deck eating breakfast, other than that you wouldnt have known they were there.sure you can see them if you walk out onto your deck and down to the lagoon, however, its no different to staying in a hotel or bungalow in my opinion.my husband nor i felt uncomfortable with the arrangement.
the amenties of the kitchen were terrific and had every you needed.the shop across the road made things alot easier not to have to go out for meals all the time.
we had asked for some groceries to be bought and waiting for us, as we didnt fly into raratonga till 11.30pm and everything was there for us, which was wonderful.
we would highly recommmend this villa to anyone staying in raratonga

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bridgetteSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Wow - what a fantastic place. Beautiful little villa, set in private garden with unobscurred beach and sea metres away. Lovely decked area in front to relax on. Kitchen well equipped, very comfortable bed - lie in in the morning and listen to the waves crashing on the reef. Peaceful lagoon to swim / snorkel in. Coral not too bad here - patches from the beach where there is none so you can get into the water.

Don't see why you would shell out to stay in one of the resorts when you can have your own slice of paradise for cheaper. Wigmores superstore across the road, excellent pizza place nearby, with DVD hire next to it - perfect! Definitely hire a scooter too.

It would be perfect if you are two couples, but to be honest we only had one of the villas and found it private enough when the other couple arrived.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katikati
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

vai villas is fantastic, so private, so clean, only our footprints to the beach. The staff were helpful and friendly, my daughters and I had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to stay here again. Cory Waller

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cory-waller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
2.1 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
542 reviews
2.4 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
1.1 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Takitumu
Takitumu
#1 of 3 in Titikaveka
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makayla Palms
Makayla Palms
#3 of 12 in Titikaveka
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royale Takitumu
Royale Takitumu
#2 of 12 in Titikaveka
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vai Villas

Property: Vai Villas
Address: Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing