We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing! Do not miss this!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show

Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show
Ranked #8 of 38 Tours in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fox Glacier
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing! Do not miss this!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We went to highland paradise night show with our 3 year old daughter. The information about the land was inspiring! An honour to be welcomed onto this significant land! Danny was the perfect guide and mc for the night! It is great to be at a cultural show where everyone is so passionate about their culture. Each person involved is giving so much! Friday night is the best night as you get to see the little ones dancing too! Great to see teenagers with a passion for culture unlike so many other countries in the world. Anne you are amazing to return to your ancestors and land and share this! You are so lovely and approachable that is gives a real connection. Totally true experience on sacred ground

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsetmotellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland_Paradise, General Manager at Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Kia Orana,

Thank you so much for bringing your family to share our culture at Highland Paradise.

We're so pleased you found it fun, informative and entertaining. We are always happy to share a piece of our history and culture with our visitors who really appreciate and respect it.

Meitaki Maata,

Anne and the team at Highland Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    77
    24
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Couple - New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Excellent Culture Show: Well worth seeing & not to expensive : Food was very good & well presented & as for the Stage Show it is a must to see: This show was one of our Highlights for our Honeymoon :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toshes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland_Paradise, General Manager at Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Kia Orana Newlyweds! A big meitaki maata from our family to yours for spending part of your honeymoon with us at Highland Paradise Cultural Centre.

Our show is a highlight for many visitors to Rarotonga and we're glad it added something extra special to your honeymoon. All the best in your new life together and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic dont miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Shows you the older culture on the mountain history lesson, buffet and a great show and MC.There is so much that you don't realize what went on with their culture in past years a great look into the past and present.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Potion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland_Paradise, General Manager at Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and for your interest in the history and culture of the Tinomana tribe. We love to share our fascinating history with our visitors. Meitaki Maata!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Honeymoon Couple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Best cultural show that we have been to. Beautiful mountaintop location and very informative. Food was good and the dancers were amazing!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank twink357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland_Paradise, General Manager at Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Kia Orana and thank you for spending part if your very special holiday with us at Highland Paradise. We are glad we could share our little piece of paradise with you on your honeymoon. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great night out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

This cultural show is well worth checking out whilst in Rarotonga. Whilst at first the price may be off-putting, as indeed it is a little over priced in my opinion, it is indeed a fun night out and you will be sure to enjoy it. There is a bit of a tour/wander through the yard first and whilst it is a little basic it is quite informative followed by a buffet dinner and show. Did have better buffets on the island than this one but it was more than adequate, except for the desserts which were extremely basic and which I found quite unappetising actually. Pretty much all cake-y and quite dry. Ended up with a terrible stomach ache and runs after this meal for a short time and I only ate vegetarian! Lovely people, enthusiastic and welcoming. A small memorable take home gift would have been a nice touch for the price. Photos of the night are posted to their page on FB. Overall enjoyed the night.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChellaBella05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland_Paradise, Owner at Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Meitaki Maata (Thank you) for choosing Highland Paradise on your recent holiday to Rarotonga. We know there are many options for cultural/island nights and we pride ourselves on being the most authentic and entertaining. Given our historic location on the mountains of Maungaroa, we offer an experience like no other entertainment facility where authenticity is paramount.

You will note that included in the cost of our show is an informative tour of our sacred marae, not open to the general public, a free welcome cocktail drink, a feast cooked using our traditional methods, an exciting cultural show and transport to and from your accommodation.

We're sorry to hear you were unwell, all of our food is prepared with the utmost care and hygiene.

We're glad you felt the spirit and hospitality of our staff and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show also viewed

 

Been to Highland Paradise Drums of our Forefathers Sunset Culture Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing