We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach BBQ !”

SilverSands Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #23 of 100 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: New Zealand, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beach BBQ !”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Loved the beach BBQ, dining on the sand, awesome background music and loved the lamb kebabs and salad.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maverick100_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    74
    34
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and Delicious Food”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed at the hotel and had lunch and dinner here a couple of times and was never dissapointed. There are lots of theme nights which made it more fun. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Inna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Never ate any where else”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Looked like it would be very expensive, but main dishes were all generous enough to share (as long as both like the same food). Most dinners were very good. Special on Thursday night of Mahi Mahi was superb. Would skip "Pig&Prawn" unless they offer a combo. Too many ribs (though good) to add prawns separately. Half of each would have been appreciated. Breakfasts varied daily, and we're all excellent (loved the pawpaw muffins).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very, very nice”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

It is sometimes a struggle to find somewhere nice to eat lunch in Rarotonga so we were pleased when our little scooter directed us to Silver Sands! The service was fantastic from a very, very nice Fijian waiter and the food was very good. I had the beef burger which had the most devine red onion relish, and hubbie had the club sandwiches and wedges. Nice setting with beach on one side of the restaurant and the pool area on the other (nice to note that the hotel is only for 18 years and older too!). Would recommend and wished we had been able to try the dinner here as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“lovely evening, great service...”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

we had dinner on a quiet weekday evening with family & friends, there were 8 in our group visiting from Aust/NZ and one local, our good friend Apai... the service was efficient and very friendly and the food was served beautifully... wine was a little bit pricey but we were on holiday and having such a good time - we decided to make the most of it and had a fantastic night!..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SilverSands Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Muri, Rarotonga
 

Been to SilverSands Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing