We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flickering flame tree”
Review of Flame Tree - CLOSED

Flame Tree
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flickering flame tree”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

On revisiting the Flame Tree for the first time in 10 years we were hugely disappointed. Maybe it was just an off night but the service was slow and rather careless. The food was okay but not great (as it used to be). Nowhere near as good as it used to be.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dineamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    75
    38
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab meal”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fabulous meal and fantastic service. Kids loved looking at the eels in the creek just outside restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lunchbox02_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Outstanding Restaurant in Rarotonga”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The ambience is ideal for island dining, we enjoyed watching the freshwater wildlife in the stream beneath the dining area deck while we took in delicious and refreshing cocktails! The staff were very good, the food was exceptionally good, the mai mai fish is hard to beat, the vegetarian salad also went down a treat. The atmosphere at this restaurant is really very good and is is to be recommended for the discerning diner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stick with the seafood”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The seafood was great. The platters were absolutely huge and more than plenty. Green-lipped mussels were fantastic. Tuna prepared the local way "cooked" in lemon juice and coconut cream was fantastic. Don't forget to have the locally brewed beer, Matutu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sstratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Island time service”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ambiance was a bit confusing. It had island style décor along with some African pictures as well. I later found out that the original owner was from Kenya so that's probably where the African art décor was from. We ordered the garlic prawn which was absolutely good but unfortunately we also ordered their chicken dish and it was just so-so. Their garlic bread as a starter was pretty good. Dinner cost was about $100NZD for all of that. We thought it was a bit pricey for what the food was. I would just order the garlic prawns there.

Service was definitely "island time" it probably took about 35 mins for our food to come from the time that we ordered it. There was a family with younger kids next to our table and they told us that they've been waiting for about an hr. I felt bad case you can tell the kids were getting ansy and hungry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HaDri817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Tree also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing