We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dinner out in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flame Tree - CLOSED

Flame Tree
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner out in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I ate here one night on our trip. We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and food and were impressed by the service. I had the lamb rack while he had the one of the fish dishes both of which we great. Only complaint was I could have done with a sharper knife! We also shared a dessert the banoffee pie which was nice although the caramel was quite sickly even for my sweet tooth!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaymcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    75
    38
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had a very enjoyable meal at the Flame Tree, one of the best during our stay. The portions were generous, fresh and very tasty. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lencia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We dined here in early July 2011 with a group of 5 adults and a 2 yr old and found the food to be amazing along with the setting and the service. We would say that it was the best meal we had on the whole island during our week long stay. We would highly recomend this place to all.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmcbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food, loved the eel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Is in a garden setting lit by accent lighting, with a stream flowing through in which lives a huge eel that just lays on the stream floor occasionally making a half hearted grab at food thrown by diners.

We started with the Ika Mata, the local marinated raw fish, which was crisp and clean with cucumber and lime flavours NZ$16.50. Also a Chilli squid and green pawpaw salad, the chilli was a bit too sweet chilli sauce out of a bottle, but the squid was cooked perfectly NZ$17.50
Mains grilled Mahi mahi on a kumara rosti and a lemon sauce, the Mahi mahi cooked well but the rosti was to big and stodgy, the lemon sauce accompanied the dish well NZ$29.00. Grilled Tuna with a spiced tomato salsa, once again fish was cook well. NZ$29.00
A side salad NZ$6.00.

To finish we shared the Mango cheesecake with coconut icecream, the cheesecake did not have any taste but the icecream was excellent. NZ$11.00
A bottle of NZ Allan Scott Sav Blanc NZ$40.00 very reasonably priced, 3 small bottles of sparkling water NZ$5.00 each.

Enjoyed the surroundings, the head waitress was excellent her co-worker not so. The meals were of a very good size, luckily we were hungry, enjoyed the night, would recommend.
Total cost of the meal NZ$164.00

See MY Other Rarotonga Reviews:
Magic Bungalows Resort
Waterline Beach Bar and Grill
Flame tree
Tamarind House
Trader Jacks
Dockside Gourmet Burgers
Little Polynesia
Maire Nui Garden and Café
Café Salsa

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank himandme2gethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good size meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Went to Flame Tree for dinner at 6pm. No one else there so thought service to order meal was slow, luckily we were not going anywhere else that night. When meal arrived it was a generous size and very tasty. Dessert was also delicious, I had the cheesecake.Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jernie251112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Tree also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing