We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trader Jacks”
Review of Trader Jacks

Trader Jacks
Ranked #15 of 100 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Seafood, New Zealand, Polynesian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cook Island's most iconic dining destination. Stunning views over the south pacific. Come in and dine with us on our al fresco deck or join our friendly team at the Vaka bar for an icy cold tap beer or the best cocktails on the island.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trader Jacks”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

AWESOME, mean feed from here, pizza was yummy, and the mains are bliss, we had smoked marlin in a white sauce and scallops and fries, its was so delicious, staff are nice and food was fresh and was on our tables fast, good sized meal for the price, $25 i think they were each, we went there on our last night and wished we went on our first night.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    826
    340
    98
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A TRUE ESTABLISHMENT ON THE ISLAND”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

It has survived Cyclones and bad economic times, but one thing has always remained the same, Trader jacks is the place to go on the main island of Rarotonga. The Fish and chips are fantastic and my favorite is the Lamb Shanks which are pure heaven The beer is cold, and the bartender is a delight. Entertainment on the nights they have it is great with generally true islanders performing as a band Prices are good and the service is very good. For lunch, the views of the little harbor are extremely relaxing and are alone worth the price of the food.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toberua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and prompt but hmmmm ppl service..”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Nice food - fair value but staff were a bit indifferent. Felt like they had no interest in smiling or being welcoming at all !

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiRailScenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Food was great, we had a nice table out on the deck area. The staff where wonderful, awsome service.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank TraceycWanganuiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong with Trader Jacks!!!”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Second, third maybe fourth time at Trader Jacks!!! Checky local bar staff that make you feel very welcome to come in for a drink, a meal or even arvo-night session with a crew of Aussie surfers!!! ( Or even drunken all blacks stars!!!) The food is awesome and the Pizza is great!! Trader Jacks is a must do on the Island!!! We will be back for sure. Great T-Shirts, good quality at a good price! 5 stars for Trader Jacks!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Jacks also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Trader Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing