We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cooper Landing
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
59
41
23
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
59
41
23
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger salmon chowder russian river reindeer sausage after a long day running water large portions great cabin our waitress was very friendly kenai river full kitchen fish these cabins chilli great place to stay sockeye rob
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 145 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2016

If you are traveling on The Kenai eventually you eat at Gwins. Large portions, great staff, clean - good basic diner food. Be aware they do charge a bit more if you use a credit card, but no big deal. We were not real hungry so we didn't opt for the burgers about $15, instead got the hot dog for about $9 with fries. The dog was very very unimpressive. Probably should of gotten the burger but all the tables around me were raving about it. Lesson learned. Will be back and check out the burger. I didn't stay at the lodge portion but Tripadvisors forces me to rate them, so my hotel ratings mean nothing.

Room tip: Again don't know since i didn't stay at lodge.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Thank you. We will be removing it from the menu the next time around. We will have the cheaper food outside in our "To-Go" shop that will come online next season. There will be picnic seating outdoors; self-serve so that will be at a lower price point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016

The cabin had was overgrown with weeds, the floor was dirty, there was leftover food in the refrigerator and food splattered in the microwave. We were provided one towel per person for three nights. There were no extra towels, no extra roll of toilet paper, no daily room service. I do not recommend this place. At $200 per night the place should at least be clean and maintained.

Room tip: My tip is to stay somewhere else.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vagabond137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Sorry about that. We have had some staff issues, mostly about 21 year olds up from the lower 48. We will be changing that next year to more responsible workers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

This place is amazing! it is very close to the Russian River for the avid fisherman. The peak Salmon Fishing time is in the Summer (July). Gwin's has a great collection of cabins tucked into the Mountains through the Kenai Peninsula. It is beautiful. If you catch them on a weekend they have great Venue for concerts behind the cabin area. The Bands are local and they do a great job as far as lighting and sound quality. There are even areas for primitive camping and bathrooms that are cleaned with showers. There is even a spot to Eat and buy fishing gear, snacks, and Alcohol. Bring your dogs, kids and friends!!

Room tip: they are all cabins but you can bring a tent
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneMonArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Thank you! We appreciate your support and see what we are trying to do here. It is not easy to finance with such a short season of only about 4 peak weeks. One note is we do NOT have showers or toilets for campers. We DO have port a johns and there are showers down the road for about $5. Please bring your own water also. We would like to put in a second septic system but the engineer is saying it will cost $300K minimum. Operating in the Park here along the Kenai River is very expensive and most people have no idea what is involved, or realize the very high costs yet short season to pay for it plus insurance and full year of property taxes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

I visited Cooper Landing this past week and fell in love with this historic old cabin. Love the feel of an old roadhouse. I had a good burger and home cut fries. YUM. It took too long to get our food but we were on vacation so it wasn't really a problem. What I didn't love was our waitress. She smelled like old booze, looked like she was hungover, and didn't smile once. I hope they will work on the staff problem because it has a lot of potential!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Thank you! We are working on that server and thanks for pointing it out. We will make revisions ASAP.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

There is nothing special about this place. Just an off the road shack. The food is below average and extremely over priced. We were very disappointed with the tiny filllet of fish in our $25 sandwiches!!!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sunny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

The Halibut Burger is 4 - 5 oz and the cost is $19.95. Halibut costs 3x steak so that cost is like a 12 - 15 oz. steak which can't be bought very easily for $20 in Alaska. Our mark up on that is low. It use to be higher last year and we made a point to price it under $20 to make Halibut more affordable for our valued guests. Gwin's Lodge is a historical building that began construction before the road was even here. Just a trail then, and 10 years before Statehood. We only have about 4 weeks/year of good business levels during the Salmon runs so most customers have been very grateful we reopened and restored the Lodge. Their support is greatly appreciated. A large number of Anchorage folks in particular; thanks for coming down! See our Gwin's Lodge 2016 Summer Concert Series on FaceBook for great Alaskan music in concert LIVE in The Pavilion, which is up the hill from Gwin's Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews