We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cooper Landing
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
59
41
23
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
59
41
23
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger salmon chowder russian river reindeer sausage after a long day running water large portions great cabin our waitress was very friendly kenai river full kitchen fish these cabins chilli great place to stay sockeye rob
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 145 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2016

I visited Cooper Landing this past week and fell in love with this historic old cabin. Love the feel of an old roadhouse. I had a good burger and home cut fries. YUM. It took too long to get our food but we were on vacation so it wasn't really a problem. What I didn't love was our waitress. She smelled like old booze, looked like she was hungover, and didn't smile once. I hope they will work on the staff problem because it has a lot of potential!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Thank you! We are working on that server and thanks for pointing it out. We will make revisions ASAP.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

There is nothing special about this place. Just an off the road shack. The food is below average and extremely over priced. We were very disappointed with the tiny filllet of fish in our $25 sandwiches!!!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sunny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

The Halibut Burger is 4 - 5 oz and the cost is $19.95. Halibut costs 3x steak so that cost is like a 12 - 15 oz. steak which can't be bought very easily for $20 in Alaska. Our mark up on that is low. It use to be higher last year and we made a point to price it under $20 to make Halibut more affordable for our valued guests. Gwin's Lodge is a historical building that began construction before the road was even here. Just a trail then, and 10 years before Statehood. We only have about 4 weeks/year of good business levels during the Salmon runs so most customers have been very grateful we reopened and restored the Lodge. Their support is greatly appreciated. A large number of Anchorage folks in particular; thanks for coming down! See our Gwin's Lodge 2016 Summer Concert Series on FaceBook for great Alaskan music in concert LIVE in The Pavilion, which is up the hill from Gwin's Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

Don't be fooled, this is a fishing camp, a housekeeping cabin. The weeds around the cabin were two feet high. The cabin floor had not been swept, but otherwise it was clean.
The bed was lumpy and piled with a variety of blankets, quilts, etc.
We ate at the restaurant, the chili my husband had was good, but the Blt I had was disgusting as were the grease-laden French fries.
Not a good value for the money.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sandrakA567UI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

The Willow cabin is our budget option with two twin beds and a bath. It shares the wall with the adjacent cabin which is laid out the same. Today a family was extremely complementary of the Gwin's Lodge property (that is at the base of a mountanin and in the middle of a forest) and what it offers. A slice of civilization where not much is available. It has a pre-statehood on-site historic restaurant, store, cabins, and music / catering venue. I am checking on the other items you mentioned. The rooms have one blanket and one comforter so I don't know what may have happened if it had more (like someone prior was cold and wanted something else too). The fries we will correct if they are not right always let us know at the time and we will ensure you are happy. Prices have been frozen for 5 years and I believe we are very competitive at $150/Nt. Thanks for the feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Spent the day on the river, hauling in out limits on sockeye salmon, and were hungry as could be, and ready to sit down and talk story!! Stopped off at Gwin's Restaurant for a bite a nd a beer, and were VERY pleasantly surprised. Excellent service, outstanding food (loved the bacon cheeseburger), and the ambiance couldn't be more "Alaskan," a pre-statehood refurbished log cabin on the river. Will definitely put this on my list of places to stop when I'm at the end of the day heading home to Eagle River.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Namako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Great! Thanks, and please tell people we are open! We need your support to continue! Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

Resterant, store on premises, many activities, fishing, raft trips, kayaking, horseback riding, photography, lots of things to do. Quaint, great for backpackers and people on a budget. Would return, esp. great stop from a long flight , and driving from ANK airport. Watch for the moose.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lori Lee U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Yes there is a young male moose that has been hanging around quite a bit. Thanks for your support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews