We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cooper Landing
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
59
41
23
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
59
41
23
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger salmon chowder russian river reindeer sausage after a long day running water large portions great cabin our waitress was very friendly kenai river full kitchen fish these cabins chilli great place to stay sockeye rob
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 145 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

Cute and rustic cabin. It was definitely a true Alaskan experience. Our cabin was cool but it could be a little cleaner. There were significant dead bugs and cobweb everywhere. The trash wasn't emptied on our first arrival. We enjoyed our stay but it could have been cleaner.

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank Ryanssanfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

Sorry we have been very short staffed on cleaning and just bought an expensive steam cleaner that promptly failed after 3 hours use. We will definitely improve this area. Thanks for letting me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

We did not eat here, but just trying to get drinks was hard enough. The staff didn't seem eager to help and they were out of a lot of basic things.

Not worth the stop in my opinion.

There are a lot of great places to eat and drink and this was not one of them.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank shosh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wei Wei J, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thanks for the feedback. We are a remote location in a National Forest with limited staff. As the season winds down, we can go from not busy to full in a short amount of time. It can take a while for us to get to you particularly as more staff leave to go back to college. We can't afford to keep the same staff level in August as in the peak of July. Daily we have people saying the food is fantastic and thanking us for being open at this historic roadhouse. Note also that not everything will come out as expected but if there is an issue we will make it right. Thank you, Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015 via mobile

When we first looked at the menu, we were shocked at the prices. The burgers were more than $15! I decided to share their quesadilla with my family member. It was large, yummy and warm, but I feel it was still too expensive. However, they have salmon chowder, which is on the cheaper side. I tried a bite of this from another family member and it was truly delicious! I don't even like salmon OR chowder much, but this was great. If you go here, I recommend you try this, as it is delicious, and won't cost too much!

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank Celina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wei Wei J, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2015

Thank you we really appreciate the great review. Regarding pricing; we only have 1/2 & 1 lb burgers that are Angus Chuck and they start at $12.95 with homemade fries which require multiple steps with much more labor. Our costs are sky high and don't cover our expenses at this point so we are priced as low as we can. Peak business is only two months to cover total insurance costs that were $40K and fuel over $50K last year. This base cost is much higher than "in-town" such as Anchorage or Soldotna, what less the lower 48. We appreciate giving stars based on a relative scale based on what we are working with here in remote Alaska. We strive to make great food with the best ingredients. We often get shorted from our suppliers, get packed with business but have limited staff, all which makes things challenging. Thank you & come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

Our family tent camped for 2 weeks near Cooper Landing and tried out a lot of the resurants in the area and Gwins topped our list. It just made us feel at home but in what an exciting place. The food was outstanding!!!.. from the salmon chowder to the huge hamburgers and home fries to the Spanish dishes...all excellant and a real hit after a day out hiking or fishing. The girls and guys that work there are super friendly and even have other talents that they showed off when the lodge hosted a 4th of July music performance and a pig roast party for anyone in the area. Those waiters and workers are great musicians too! Wow, we weren't expecting that..professional rock and folk music all night with great views outside the screened Pavillion behind the lodge. What a great venue for big gatherings and good fun. Everything felt like you were at a really cool family reunion away from home. Nice, friendly, helpful people. We are going back. Our favorite place!

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wei Wei J, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2015

Thank you we really appreciate the review. Often it is upset people that take the time to write reviews, and others base the stars on a absolute scale vs. relative scale based on what we are working with here in remote Alaska. We strive to make great food with the best ingredients. We often get shorted from our suppliers, get packed with business but have limited staff, all which makes things challenging. Come back, fish are in good!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2015

Comfy rustic cabin (2 double beds, private bathroom with shower only, coffee maker and heating). The cabins seem to mostly cater for fisherman but is perfectly comfortable and clean with nice hot water and good water pressure. Linen and towels (good supply) all clean as is the cabin. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and cozy so we had a really good night's sleep. Shampoo and soap supplied. Wifi is free but doesn't reach the cabin but you could always stand outside the restaurant or pop in and use your wifi device. We did not eat at the restaurant but did stop in for drinks. Casual friendly atmosphere. The meals others had looked great. Adjoining shop with lodge checkin friendly and has all the essentials you will will need including microwave oven for use. The Kenai river runs along directly across the road. It's a beautiful area. I would recommend if you are happy with rustic but clean accommodation.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 313leeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wei Wei J, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2015

Thank you for your helpful review. That describes the Willow log cabin room which is a duplex cabin split into two separate rooms with baths, but no kitchens. They are the first to book up due to low price. Full cabins are nicer for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews