We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cooper Landing
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
59
41
23
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
59
41
23
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger salmon chowder russian river reindeer sausage after a long day running water large portions great cabin our waitress was very friendly kenai river full kitchen fish these cabins chilli great place to stay sockeye rob
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 145 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2015

Comfy rustic cabin (2 double beds, private bathroom with shower only, coffee maker and heating). The cabins seem to mostly cater for fisherman but is perfectly comfortable and clean with nice hot water and good water pressure. Linen and towels (good supply) all clean as is the cabin. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and cozy so we had a really good night's sleep. Shampoo and soap supplied. Wifi is free but doesn't reach the cabin but you could always stand outside the restaurant or pop in and use your wifi device. We did not eat at the restaurant but did stop in for drinks. Casual friendly atmosphere. The meals others had looked great. Adjoining shop with lodge checkin friendly and has all the essentials you will will need including microwave oven for use. The Kenai river runs along directly across the road. It's a beautiful area. I would recommend if you are happy with rustic but clean accommodation.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 313leeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wei Wei J, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2015

Thank you for your helpful review. That describes the Willow log cabin room which is a duplex cabin split into two separate rooms with baths, but no kitchens. They are the first to book up due to low price. Full cabins are nicer for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2015

Spent more than $200 for one night with a king bed. One window completely missing blinds. Floor needed serious cleaning. You always expect crazy summer prices in AK but this was not worth it. Many other options in the area much cleaner and better maintained.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RDMCCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wei Wei J, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2015

Thank you for your review; we are ordering a window covering. The bed was either queen or double so I am not sure which cabin that was. If Spruce or Poplar Chalet; carpet and hardwood floors were replaced in 2012 (7 months use so far due to seasonal) but muddy waders get worn in sometimes so it can be a lot of cleaning. Try to let us know ASAP, by check out or earlier, if there is problem. I'm surprised pricing is an issue; our pricing is low for cabins, it is a very small house, which is very different than renting a motel room, which are cheaper and don't have an on-site historical restaurant; and so near the Russian River. We visited Denali in 2012 & stayed a full half hour outside Denali, and had to pay $500/nt for a cabin without a kitchen. I did consider that expensive, but we had no other choice at booking. We had a good time so it was worth it. We can provide meals at that rate! So this area is relatively inexpensive compared to other parts of Alaska; what less fly-in lodges. There is so much to do around here it is awesome for the hiker, photographer and fishing enthusiast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2015

It may not be the newest but is still the best. I have stayed at Gwin's in the past and again in June of this year.

Food is great, beer is cold, they will cook the sockeye you catch.

It is close to the Russian river and Kenai River.

It is what a fishing lodge should be.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank kburke2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wei Wei J, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2015

Thank you for your review! We are working hard to provide value at one convenient location, and provide great food under difficult supply and labor conditions; Summer in Alaska. Thanks for your support!

There is so much to do around here it is awesome for the hiker, photographer and fishing enthusiast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

I had the salmon chowder it was unexpectedly great. The beer was tasty and the Eskimo kiss drink was just like a dessert. The Philippines cheese stake sandwich was nothing special. The wait staff was wonderful it was very family friendly

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wei Wei J, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2015

Thank you!!!!!!!! Come back soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2015

Last August we stay at Gwin's and the manager was very helpful. Our plans to Cordova where cancelled due to the Ferry being cancelled. The manager put us up in a unit that they were working on. If it wasn't for that we would been sleeping in our car. Lots to do especially if you like salmon fishing or eating. Not far from bear viewing.. we used Talon air, great guide.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zipNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wei Wei J, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge and Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2015

Thank you & glad to help!!!!!!!! We book trips all over the Peninsula; just let us know what you are thinking of and we will plan it out and get back with you. Come back soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews