We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Princess Lodge on our trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favorite Princess Lodge on our trip”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stop on the land touur portion of our Princess cruisetour and our favorite hotel. Spacious rooms with great decks, although we could hear every sound from the adjoining room. Lodge, gift shop and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. Delicious reindeer chili!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateNY50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    56
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
80
129
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

After working our way down from Fairbanks for a cruise, we were pleasantly surprised at the Kenai Princess lodge. It is surrounded by nature, there were a number of bear passing thru while we were there. It is a roomy modern lodge, with nice large rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are amazing. Sitting room with sofa and TV. Large bedroom and bath. We stayed in the farthest units next to the Woods. Spent time walking the trails and sitting next to the Kenai river just enjoying the view and the quiet.

Meals at the resort were pretty pricey but worth every bit.

Amazing place to get away from the overwhelmingness of everyday life. We left refreshed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttsctravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel is just what we wanted for a night. It was rustic, the rooms were spacious with a seperate living area and the tv cleverly spun so you can watch in the living room and bedroom when it was time for bed. Also, there was a fire place that was usable and nice. The grounds were beautful and the views were outstanding. If I was grading the hotel on its own it would get a 4 or 5 star rating.

However, the food was historically bad. I have seen reviews that say otherwise but I can only find that baffling. The soup I got was cold and it was awful chowder..which is very hard to screw up. Then our group had the scallops dynamite which was chewy and tasteless. The salmon was overcooked and the halibut was dry and cold. The amazing thing is when the server was taking our plates he had to have seen that the halibut and salmon had two bites total taken. He never asked what was wrong. Amazing that this restaurant can charge high end prices and act like its a Burger King. Check that, I wish it was.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Cabins were spacious, had nice rustic furnishings and balcony with friendly chipmunk. Room was a little warm, so kept sliding door open for ventilation. View of river behind restaurant gorgeous. Gift shop was adequate and purchased some souvenirs. Laundromat was a lifesaver. Did not eat here besides buying coffee which was adequate. Did utilize the lobby wifi and own laptop. Was able to print boarding passes on hotel printer. Noted this hotel catered to the Princess Cruise ship clientele with buses and service for their schedule. Had a little trouble with the hot water for a shower. The 20 gallon water heater "ran out" before we finished our family's showers. The desk did have a maintenance man come try to repair the problem after waiting about 30 min. We were late getting out of the cabin for checkout and housekeeping ladies kept knocking on our door to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyeetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I was scheduled to stay at the Kenai Princess Lodge and had to cancel my stay. After trying unsuccessfully to cancel my reservation online and sending two e-mails I called the hotel and was informed they could not cancel my reservation either. I then attempted to cancel through their central reservation line and they were not able to help either. While speaking to the person at central reservations he informed me that "he did not create the website so he could not figure out what I was doing wrong". He also informed me that the e-mail (which is on their website) is incorrect and that was why no one had ever gotten back to me. I was stuck paying $235 and was never able to cancel my reservation.

VERY DISAPPOINTING experience. If you choose to book here, make sure you do not have to cancel your reservation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed in three of the four Princess Lodges (Kenai, McKinley, Denali) while on our cruise-tour. The Kenai Princess was by far the best of the three. We would happily stay here again. The service and food in the restaurants were excellent. After a day of sight-seeing (the float trip on the river and the boat trip into Kenai Fjords were the highlights of our two week trip) it was always a pleasure to return each evening to the great food and the spectacular river and mountain view on the lodge deck.

Our room was exceptionally large and nicely appointed. The housekeeping details could be improved a bit -- a few dead bugs in the bathroom corners -- but the room was generally clean.

The staff was friendly and helpful. If/when we return to Alaska, a lengthy stay at the Kenai Princess will be high on the "to do" list. For spectacular scenery and comfortable accommodations it just doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLEtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
2.6 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
102 reviews
16.3 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
82 reviews
15.7 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#3 of 3 in Cooper Landing
25 reviews
11.4 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
83 reviews
19.3 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Mile 47.7 Sterling Highway, Cooper Landing, AK 99572
Location: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cooper Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Kenai Princess Wilderness Hotel Cooper Landing
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge Cooper Landing, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing