We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$72
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Trail Lake Lodge(Moose Pass)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Motel(Seward)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor 360 Hotel(Seward)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taroka Inn(Seward)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Alpine Motel(Cooper Landing)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
201
65
24
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
201
65
24
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood burning stoverv parkgift shopthe rivertour deskland portionsitting areacruise tourhot tubmain buildingrooms are hugenice traillarge areanice propertywalked downnice bathroomoutside porch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 302 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2007

My daughter and I stayed here in May after a long day of driving the Seward Highway, hiking Exit Glacier and seeing the Sea Life Center in Seward. It was a rainy day but the beauty of Alaska still was awesome. We arrived at the hotel in the evening and had already eaten dinner so cannot comment on the food at the lodge. We were told upon check-in that there was a grizzly bear roaming around the lodge daily and to beware. The salmon were not running yet and once they did the bear would leave the lodge area we were told. We never saw the bear ourselves but kept a watchful look out. Our room was set up like a cabin suite with 2 rooms and a bathroom. Everything was very clean and orderly. We liked the rustic look. The curtains did not close all the way but I always travel with a sturdy clip you would use to close a snack bag so it was not a problem. The lodge is in a peaceful, out of the way setting. We were really just looking for a place to stay for the night. We were driving to Whittier the next day for a glacier cruise. This location worked very well between Seward and Whittier.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

This property is beautiful and quiet, it is off the beaten path but with all the amenities you could ask for. We ate 3-4 meals there and visited the bar. You MUST try the Fishermans Margarita if its prepared by Lisa. After checking out, we dreamed about this margarita and went back only to have it prepared by someone else who did not make it the same...not consistant. We booked this trip shortly after the reservations opened for the season (last year) and they only had one night avaiable within the 2 weeks we were going to be in Alaska because they service the travelers who book trips on their cruise lines and only have a couple of "openings" for other travelers. We would have loved to have stayed longer, even for the $239.00 a night price.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuessWho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

On our two and a half week tour of Alaska, we were lucky enough to stay at this property for one night...our first night on the land portion of our cruise/land tour. I wish we could've stayed here longer. The cabins were huge, with a wonderful deck equipped with two rocking chairs. The bed was huge and the room was nice and clean and comfortable. The property is very spread out, with a few restaurants/shops nearby in the main lobby area. There are a few wilderness walks on property. One walk takes you down a steep hill right to the banks of the gorgeous Kenai River. The water is blue thanks to the glacier melt, and there are ducks and fish and lots to see. We were lucky enough to see a mama moose and her twins on the river getting a drink on one of our walks, as well as some frisky ducks trying to swim upstream. Some black bears were seen on property while we were there, but we did not see them.
I really can't recommend this property enough. We stayed at 4 different Princess properties during our trip to Alaska, and this was the best one by far. My only complaint is that the skylights in the rooms cause the "midnight sun" to beam into your room all night. This place is worth the trip inland...and there is a lot to do in this area and on the Kenai River.

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank lowens311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

We stayed for one night rather than drive back to Seward or Anchorage . It was early in the cruise boat season so got a good price and found it to be excellent value. The log cabins are very large with seperate living and sleeping area. The hotel restaurant has a captive market yet was good value and quality. The real Alaskan experience was enhanced by the notices that a bear had been seen on the property.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank scotaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Owned by Princess cruise lines (actually one of the less appealing features of the place, as the massive tour buses detract from any sense of wilderness solitude), this place is comfortable, clean and beautifully set overlooking the blue Kenai river and at the base of picturesque mountains. Don't expect to see views from your room - ours looked out onto other "lodges" (basically banks of 10 or so connected rooms). The rooms are actually suites with a nice living room and great wood burning stove. Agree with previous comment re skylight - makes light-proofing in the summer impossible. Bathrooms were weakest part of the room with linoleum floors and outdated fixtures.

Restaurant physically nice with beautiful deck - food is good, not great. I understand there are lots of hikes and stuff to do around the hotel - we were with a Backroads tour so didn't stay long enough to find out.

Those looking for a true wilderness lodge will be offput by the Princess presence. It is, however, a very nice property.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews