We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of the Princess Lodges in Alaska”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jewel of the Princess Lodges in Alaska”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

If you want to see an area of Alaska that is more beautiful than all others, stay at the Kenai Princess Lodge in Cooper Landing. The location is ideal for sightseeing in the area. The rooms were clean and neat, the wait staff was beyond compare in professionalism and friendliness. We've never had better service and it made our stay the better for it. The bartender, Carl, was superior, and his nice easy going manner made everything perfect. I would go there again and again. A bonus was having a woodstove in our room, which was wonderful on a cool fall night.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a wood stove. Large room and the stove made it cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie71171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    56
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
77
125
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
winfield. pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here while on a Princess land/cruise tour and loved the spacious room with a wood burning stove. The was a covered porch on the front and a deck on the back of the room with a great view of the mountains. The bed was comfortable and the room was large enough that we could gather there with our friends for a drink. The excursions were overpriced as usual so we rented a taxi ($24 one way) to take us to a great local hiking trail where we saw hundreds of salmon running. Our taxi cab driver (Wildman's taxi) was great and even took us to a local store so we could stock up on entertainment supplies (beer) before heading back to the lodge. My only beef was the limited selection in the coffee shop.

Room Tip: We stayed at the lodge building farthest from the lodge and enjoyed the exercise to the main lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyak58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitley bay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at the Princess Kenai lodge for two nights after an Alaskan cruise.It was a great place to stay the lodge was very spacious even complete with a log burning fire.We wern't sure how to operate despite instructions but the Lodge offered to send someone to light it for us.The restaurant and bar would both serve the same menu if requested and the drinks were cheaper than on the ship! As we were the last group to leave before the Lodge closed up for winter the whole staff turned out to wave us off,some even in fancy dress! I think they may have then gone back to have an end of season party (good luck to them).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamfoxy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Kenai Princess Lodge. It was a great place to stay on our way to Homer and the night before our cruise out of Whittier. The staff was friendly. There wasn't much to do on site unless you were signed up for one of the excursions but the grounds and lodge were beautifully maintained. The rooms were great - only 4 to a building. My only complaint was no blackout curtain over the skylight in the bath area. It was really bright for sleeping in June! I'd highly recommend this hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terebene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the Princess Kenai Lodge for 2 nights post cruise and while the property itself is beautiful and the surrounding areas have a lot to offer, the lodge was just so-so. Our room was spacious, but the bathroom is small and your water pressure/temperature will change if the neighboring unit flushes the toilet. The walls our thin and you can hear when your neighbor showers as well. The tvs need updating, our room had a maybe 25" tube tv. My husband who has perfect vision could not read the bottom of the screen. There is a communal hot tub which was packed on several occasions. There are nature trails on the property leading down to the Kenai River. There are 2 restaurant choices, a more traditional dining room and the separate, more casual bar on site. The food was very good and large portions, but the service wasn't great after our server was sent home it was hard to flag one of the bartenders down for a drink after our meal. I would look into other options next time if independently traveling with a car through this area.

Room Tip: Ask if any have been refurbished recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge and were very satisfied with our stay. We had reserved a king bed but got a room with two double beds. Since the lodge was full, we had to stay one night in that room but the front desk was very helpful getting us in a king room for the rest of our stay. The rooms are a bit dated but the outside of the buildings and grounds are very well maintained. We enjoyed fires in the wood burning stove but wish the rooms had a fridge and coffee maker. The food at the restaurant and bar was very good with plenty of choices. It was the end of the season and for the most part the staff still had very good attitudes and provided quality service. The person at the tour desk didn't seem all that knowledgeable of the area. We stopped at places in Cooper Landing to get information from locals and booked a fishing trip from their recommendations. In looking around the Cooper Landing area, we feel the Kenia Princess Lodge was likely the best place to stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_RAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Lodge is actually misnamed - I don't think there are rooms in the Lodge. The rooms are up the hill away from it. The Lodge overlooks the Kenai River. Large deck out back to lounge as the day ends. Our room was huge and nicely appointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpowell47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
2.6 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 3 in Cooper Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
16.3 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
15.7 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
19.3 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
0.9 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Mile 47.7 Sterling Highway, Cooper Landing, AK 99572
Location: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cooper Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Kenai Princess Wilderness Hotel Cooper Landing
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge Cooper Landing, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing