We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Stay Here Again . . . .”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Beaufort, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will Stay Here Again . . . .”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Lodge is actually misnamed - I don't think there are rooms in the Lodge. The rooms are up the hill away from it. The Lodge overlooks the Kenai River. Large deck out back to lounge as the day ends. Our room was huge and nicely appointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpowell47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    56
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
80
129
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Beautiful view. Excellent service. We came back from Seward this week and stopped at the Lodge for a glass of wine and lemonade overlooking the beautiful Kenai River. The lodge closes this week for the winter and we caught it just right....The sun was still shining and the restaurant was still open. The tables and chairs outside were comfortable and beautiful, the waitress was super and the wine was delicious. The Lodge has beautiful rooms and cottages.....its on the mountain side overlooking the worlds most gracious river.......the KENAI. It is defenitely one great place to visit.......

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskafrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
416 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

What's not right with this place. The cabins are spacious, comfortable and clean. Log fire made it even more cosy. The views are good, grounds are well kept, bar food was excellent and service was very good and helpful.
Did think the main desk would be more informed about local attractions, plus breakfast was not great as potatoes were burnt. Also they give away chinese made gifts as your free souvenir - get a grip Princess Cruises!!

Room Tip: I think all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here two nights en route back from Homer to Seward. Our plan was to relax in Princess quality surroundings while trying our hands at fishing in the Kenai River. Our unit was located in a long building of units. Unfortunately, walls were thin so we heard our neighbor's television through the wall. Our patio view was a tree.

On the upside, the rooms were spacious with a wood stove, table, and sitting area one one end and king bed on the other, with private bath. We would have liked a refrigerator, but didn't anticipate one; however, we were shocked to not have a coffee maker in the unit. To get coffee, we had to purchase our first paper cups of coffee and then could have free refills each time we brought the paper cup back to the main lodge. Considering our distance from the main lodge and the amenities in the room, this process seemed cheap.

Staff at the front desks and in the dining room were friendly and helpful. Free internet access was available. Lodge lobby area did not 'feel' inviting but we could go on the deck for limited view of the Kenai River. The Lodge offered a hiking trail down to the river.

And yes, our half day drag fishing trip was fun. My husband caught two trout and we saw a mother moose and baby browsing on the river bank. All gear was provided and the guide was a personable young man determined that we catch fish! That night, we ate at the Kingfisher Roadhouse at Milepost 47.4 Sterling Highway. Great atmosphere and food.

In hindsight, we could have stayed here only one night before fishing and then gone on to Seward for the second night. The Lodge didn't feel that special.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We traveled to the Kenai Princess Lodge as the first stop on our land tour after a great cruise on the Island Princess. During the cruise, we barely noticed the lengthening of days due to blackout curtains in our cabin on the ship. We expected blackout shades/curtains for out entire Alaskan trip as the days were getting long and we figured that would just be standard for folks visiting Alaska in the summer. Well, we couldn't have been more wrong! We had a charming attached cottage at the Kenai Princess, but not only did it lack blackout curtains, it had a sky light! There was no covering this thing and it looked like noon in our cabin at 11:30 pm. In the morning, we discovered that the walls are paper thin and we could hear conversations in the cabin next door, not to mention their TV at 6 am and the shower, and toilet......Thank goodness the grounds were interesting and the food at the main restaurant was good. I loved their salmon chowder and truly, they had the most delicious and fluffy blueberry pancakes I think I've ever had. Just remember to bring your eye shades and ear plugs.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room without a skylight in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My wife and I split up from our friends who were out fishing on Lake Skilak for the day. Since we had been camping in Seward for several days beforehand, my wife was wanting to take a little break and relax at the Kenai Princess. When we pulled in and registered, we were thrilled to see they had full hookups and CABLE!! It was very nice to be able to sit back, relax and have a wonderful dinner at the lodge. I will surely be back next trip to Alaska!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in July for 1 night, and had a nice stay. Our room was best described as "hotel-style", with the exception of a nice wood-burning fireplace which we did use and enjoy. After having stayed in cozy, locally-owned log cabins on the previous portions of our Alaska trip, Kenai Princess Lodge just struck us as a lttile too "commercial" for our Alaska experience. The room itself was clean and fine, but we found ourselves wishing we had booked one of the many log-cabin options in Cooper Landing, many of which were closer to the river than this hill-top hotel.

Room Tip: HIgh speed internet is free, but only accessable in hotel lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettsky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
2.6 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
103 reviews
16.3 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
82 reviews
15.7 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#3 of 3 in Cooper Landing
25 reviews
11.4 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
84 reviews
19.3 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Mile 47.7 Sterling Highway, Cooper Landing, AK 99572
Location: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cooper Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Kenai Princess Wilderness Hotel Cooper Landing
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge Cooper Landing, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing