We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic rooms but very good value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hutch Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2008

This place is run by very, very helpful people - particularly their granddaughter who works there during the summer. It is easy to find as it is just off the highway.

The rooms are very basic but is what we expected. The breakfast in the morning was plentiful - muffins, fruit, cereal, tea/coffee/juice, boiled eggs etc and was more than we were expecting.

If you want luxurious accomodations then this isn't the place for you. However, we would stay here again as the value for money is simply outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 92 of 92 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2008

Our room here was large , clean but very basic. Breakfast is continental but ample. The best thing about the place are the people. The owners and their granddaughter who works for them in the summer are exceptionally helpful and friendly. Another bonus is that for Alaska the price is inexpensive. If you are looking for luxury stay at the Kenai Princess, but if you are looking for a clean comfortable reasonably price place this is the one at which to to stay .

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank windjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

Just returned from a 3 day stay at the Hutch. What a wonderful place. George and Shirley are wonderful and generous hosts. The rooms are cozy and INEXPENSIVE. It's located in the heart of Cooper Landing (which is pretty dinky) right on the World Famous Kenai River. This B & B is clean, cozy, and comfortable. We inundated them and rented 7 rooms while a group of us were working in Cooper Landing and the hosts went out of their way to assist us. They built us a bon fire, washed and dried our wet clothes, and even baked us a cake! The breakfast was perfect for a group on the go. Cereals, yogurt, fruit, bagels, muffins, toast etc. Really very accomodating. Don't go expecting a lavish hotel, but snug, pleasant, CLEAN accomodations and a warm welcome you WILL receive. George and Shirley: the Alaska Office of Boating Safety Thanks You One Million Times.

Stayed: May 2007
7  Thank AKMaryKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Gastrodanilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
3.3 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Cooper Landing
116 reviews
15.6 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
374 reviews
10.7 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
94 reviews
18.6 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hutch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hutch Bed & Breakfast

Address: Mile 48.5 Sterling Highway, Bunny Trail, Cooper Landing, AK 99572
Location: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cooper Landing
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George & Shirley welcome you to The Hutch Bed & Breakfast. Please enjoy our 3-story Cedar Lodge with very affordable Smoke-free Rooms with Private Bath. All Guests Receive Access to: Hearty Continental Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi, Common Areas for relaxation and watching DVDs, Covered Decks, Nightly Campfires, Outdoor Picnic Area, Barbeque Grill & Free Parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hutch Bed & Breakfast Cooper Landing, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing