We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveler rating
217
14
7
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
217
14
7
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish fire pit float trip the river premium package russian house office staff awesome guide sockeye nightly campfire glacier cruise king salmon these folks breakfast room rainbow trout drift boat the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 240 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2019

We stayed in the main house in a bedroom upstairs with a shared bath. No-one was in the other room so we had it to ourselves. There was a queen bed and bunk beds.i was under the impression that we could use the main house as well for the living room or kitchen but that was not the case. someone had that part rented and we could not enter. It was fine just unexpected. Loved the breakfast, but make sure you know about it. We only found out when a fellow guest told us about it. Nothing was said upon checkin and it is in a hidden location. It was great and they keep it open all day i think with snacks coffee tea etc. The campfire and marshmallows are both amazing. we took the river fishing trip and it was pretty fun. 2 out of 3 of us caught something. My husband did not and he was a bit bored.
We all agreed we could have stayed there forever!

Room tip: if i was staying longer i would rent a cabin.
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dufferoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Guest Relations Manager at Drifter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very happy to hear all of you could have stayed forever. The breakfast nook is very nice and I apologize that no one mentioned it you but sometimes in the hectic moment things get overlooked. Thank you so much for the wonderful review that you took the time to write and submit about us. The campfire and marshmallows are one of my favorite things and rate as high to me as the fishing trips do. We all look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

We loved our cabin - it was clean and comfortable and new. We did a guided float trip down that Kenai River that was awesome in every way - our guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. We enjoyed our stay at Drifter's Lodge very much and can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cll45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Guest Relations Manager at Drifter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the float trip and your cabin so much. Thank you for the excellent review you wrote about us. we really appreciate our clients writing about our guides and staff and so glad that your rafting guide was so knowledgeable and friendly.Very happy that you enjoyed out stay with us and cannot wait to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

We stayed at the Lodge just because it was the perfect location for us between Seward and Whittier. It turned out to be the BEST lodging of our entire Alaska trip. Absolutely beautiful grounds, comfortable bedding and every comfort you could ask for. No TV, which was a blessing in disguise because it forced us to talk, read or just sit by the fire (provided nightly) by the lake. Breakfast was amazing and there were marshmallows and skewers right by the fire which made roasting them quick and easy. No detail was too small. We hated leaving!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 28DeeDee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Guest Relations Manager at Drifter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

We are very pleased that you felt we were your best lodging for your vacation. No TV is a blessing at certain times of our busy life and very happy you spent some time at our nightly fire and roasted marshmallows with the available skewer. Thank you so kindly for your wonderful review. Breakfast at the breakfast nook has a large quantity of choices and sounds like you enjoyed it. We hated for you to leave as well but we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

Our family (11 total) just returned from a 4 day/5 night stay at Drifter's and we had an absolutely amazing experience! Bob and his staff are so well organized and did everything to ensure we had a great experience! We stayed in the River House, which was more than large enough for all of us - 5 bedrooms (with varieties of bunk & bed sizes) and 3 baths - all well appointed.

Our package included breakfast and lunch every day for all of us, even though on some days we split up and did different activities. Breakfast is located in a "breakfast nook/room" and is very well stocked, and available when you need to get up for an early fishing trip (in our case, one morning we were up at 2am!). Lunch was delivered in backpacks each night before our excursions and was very hearty - Sandwiches, fruit, snacks. We provided our own dinners each night. We planned to go out one night, but because of our massive Costco stop in Anchorage we ended up making dinner every night and ate on the deck of our house overlooking the river, which was actually perfect for such a large group.

Each night we enjoyed the campfire, made s'mores and played games by the fire and in the house. As far as our excursions, we mainly did fishing trips and wanted to try different methods: boat/drifting, shore, hike-in creek fishing. All of our guides were so knowledgeable, friendly and attentive to our needs. We also very much enjoyed a day hike to the Russian River. Tommy taught us all about berries, plants, and wildlife and were treated to a spectacular view of hoards of spawning sockeye! On our last night Jacob took us on an evening float trip down a 12 mile stretch of the river, which was beautiful.

I can't say enough about how happy we were with our experience. We will definitely be recommending Drifter's Lodge to friends! Thank you Bob and everyone we came in contact with (I am too afraid to mention names, in fear I will forget someone - everyone, from guides to office staff was great!)

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Myra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Guest Relations Manager at Drifter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

The river house was definitely the best choice in our eyes for your family of eleven and it is a very spectacular place to stay and we are very pleased that you enjoyed staying there while still being able to enjoy the nightly campfire ans the making of s'mores. We thank you very much for the wonderful and heartfelt review. All of our guides and staff really appreciate your kind words about them all. Tommy is one of our very knowledgeable and friendly guides and tries to make everyone feel like part of our family. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

We took a 3 hour, 12 mile river rafting float tour...just wow. The scenery, the wildlife, the enormity of the experience was fantastic. Like so many things though, our guide made all the difference in the trip.
The former US Marine (Thank You for your service, sir) who guided us on the river was a fountain of knowledge and had a great sense of humor. He made the trip for us,
From endless anecdotal details about Alaska, the Copper River area, the Copper and Russian rivers, surrounding mountains, wildlife and even the local residents.
While we were only on the river for 3 hours we learned so much, had fun and just enjoyed every moment of the trip.
Bring a camera with a fresh battery, don’t be surprised if you get splashed with some cold, glacial melt river water and just expect to have a very memorable experience.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ChubbaHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Guest Relations Manager at Drifter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

It sounds like the 3 hour float trip was just fantastic for you. The scenery, wildlife and the knowledgeable guide all sound like a great way to spend some time on the river. Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. Very happy that you learned some things about our local area and that you enjoyed the trip so much. Bringing a camera with fresh batteries is a great idea because you can catch some very memorable moments on the river. We certainly look forward to your next trip with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews