We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drifter's Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifter's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at Drifters Lodge for 3 night the 1st week of September 2013. The cabins were very clean and extremely comfortable. We stayed in cabin #4 which faces the river and has great views. We did the 8 hour fishing with them for Rainbows. We were debating between the 1/2 day and the full day for months, and decided on the full day at the last minute. We were glad that we did, We caught so many Rainbows we lost count. They practically jumped in the boat. We are not die hard fisherman, but enjoy fishing in different places when we are on vacation.

We would return and stay here if we make another trip to Alaska. The location is central for sightseeing. They have a bonfire on the river every night and it was really cool to meet the other guests and share stories. The owners are awesome.

Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBug929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
36
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 days at Drifter's Lodge in late August. This place in a gem. Comfy cabins, spectacular views, and wonderful hospitality all around. We went fishing 4 of the 5 days and couldn't have asked for better guides! Jefferson, Alex, and Dave were great! It was my first time fly fishing and they were patient and excellent instructors. We were on the beautiful Kenai River every day and came back tired and happy. Nightly campfires were a nice opportunity to talk with others and share our fishing tales from the day. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly, from Bob, the owner to Stephanie in the office and everyone else who works at Drifter's Lodge. We can't wait to go back - it was an amazing trip!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I booked the King Room for one night and we wished we had planned it for longer! Everything was perfect. The owner Bob is exceptional. We arrived at 10:15PM and caught him on his way out, but he happily checked us in and spent at least 15 minutes showing us our room and the rest of the property including the sauna that had a large window facing the Kenai River, the central campfire location, and the eating and living area in the main cabin. He even went and found a box fan for us upon request before he left for the night. Breakfast was described as continental, but was the nicest continental breakfast I'd had in a while and included bagels, toast, muffins, hard boiled eggs, cereal, juice, coffee, and even brownies. Our King room was beautifully and simply decorated with a rustic and comfortable feeling, the shower of the shared bathroom was wonderful, and overall the view of this property was breathtaking. Cute birdhouses dotted the property, and the other workers there were very friendly. We spoke with Jessica and Alex during our time there. I cannot wait for another chance to spend more days at this lodge, highly highly recommend!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed in the Crow's Nest-the room was nice, but could have used a curtain on the front window/door as the day is long in June. We did a guided fishing trip with Alex and he exceeded expectations. My son had a great time-Alex was the perfect guide and was extremely experienced at knowing where to fish. The property has a fabulous view of the river and the campfire in the evening was a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bolt4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived 7/21 and made arrangements with the owner, Bob to raft the next day. The lodge picked us up AND offered to drop us off at our camp ground. The rafting guide Evan was great - he is a true 'people person' and has excellent knowledge of the flora and fauna. We saw salmon, eagles, signs of bear (thankfully - it's high season for fishing) and trout galore being caught. The trip was a great success! The weather was gorgeous and the scenery is world class! I would recommend this to anyone wanting to see the real Alaska.
Thanks again to Bob, Penny & Tim & Angela

Room Tip: Did not stay in lodging but we toured one of the cabins, very comfortably furnished accommodations w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polar_blanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

You can rent the entire raft (holds 7 + guide) for less than it would cost for 5 individual tickets. Take the 3 hour tour...worth the extra time and slightly higher cost. You'll be glad you did since the time just seems to fly by. Handicap accessible. Our group ranged in age from 5 to 86. All of us were provided proper safety gear and instructions. Our guide, Marissa was the best I've ever had on the Kenai. She was knowledgable and fun to be with. Ask for her...she's terrific!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The cabin we stayed in was just the right size, clean, and matched the scenery perfect. We visited in May and the only thing I wish we had were better curtains so we could sleep a little better when it was bright practically 20hrs. We had a great fishing trip with Matty provided by the lodge. They also had brand new high dollar fishing gear which we loved! The lodge had a fire at night where everyone staying got to visit with each other. I would recommend this to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dheafner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
3.4 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 3 in Cooper Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
15.4 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
15.2 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
18.5 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
16.7 mi away
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
#3 of 3 in Moose Pass
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifter's Lodge

Property: Drifter's Lodge
Address: 18404 Sterling Hwy, Cooper Landing, AK 99572-9723 (Formerly Kenai River Drifter's Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cooper Landing
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kenai River Drifters Hotel Cooper Landing
Drifter's Lodge Cooper Landing, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing