We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rafting & guide: par excellence!”
Review of Drifter's Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifter's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rafting & guide: par excellence!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived 7/21 and made arrangements with the owner, Bob to raft the next day. The lodge picked us up AND offered to drop us off at our camp ground. The rafting guide Evan was great - he is a true 'people person' and has excellent knowledge of the flora and fauna. We saw salmon, eagles, signs of bear (thankfully - it's high season for fishing) and trout galore being caught. The trip was a great success! The weather was gorgeous and the scenery is world class! I would recommend this to anyone wanting to see the real Alaska.
Thanks again to Bob, Penny & Tim & Angela

Room Tip: Did not stay in lodging but we toured one of the cabins, very comfortably furnished accommodations w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polar_blanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
36
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

You can rent the entire raft (holds 7 + guide) for less than it would cost for 5 individual tickets. Take the 3 hour tour...worth the extra time and slightly higher cost. You'll be glad you did since the time just seems to fly by. Handicap accessible. Our group ranged in age from 5 to 86. All of us were provided proper safety gear and instructions. Our guide, Marissa was the best I've ever had on the Kenai. She was knowledgable and fun to be with. Ask for her...she's terrific!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The cabin we stayed in was just the right size, clean, and matched the scenery perfect. We visited in May and the only thing I wish we had were better curtains so we could sleep a little better when it was bright practically 20hrs. We had a great fishing trip with Matty provided by the lodge. They also had brand new high dollar fishing gear which we loved! The lodge had a fire at night where everyone staying got to visit with each other. I would recommend this to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dheafner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. The location is perfect, right on the beautiful Kenai River. Stephanie greeted us on our check-in. She was delightful and very helpful with recommendations on where to dine in Cooper Landing. We took her advice and dined at The Kingfisher, 2 nights in a row. The food and live music there was great. Our cabin was pleasant and well set up for a family. All the staff had a smile on their face and a friendly word each time they passed by. We spent a day drift fishing on the Kenai River with Salmon Chaser Charters Alaska, with Tige as our guide, and could not recommend them more highly. (http://www.alaskasalmonchaser.com/home.asp) When we returned, tired but happy after our day out, the lodge had a fire lit and chairs out by the river, for the guests to sit, relax, maybe have a drink and talk about their day and the "huge" fish they caught!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I can't speak for the other accommodations at Drifters, but our stay at the Russian House for a night was incredible. Chris (the owner of the house) was very nice to speak with and he and his wife keep the property immaculate. Everything you could possibly need was in every drawer and cabinet, including a full grill outside with all tools required. The fire pit next to the river was very, very well done (all wood included) with a spectacular view of the upper river. The wood fired sauna on the property was one of the best I've experienced - and is huge - you could easily have 8 people in there. The only issue I had during our stay is that their son used the sauna one morning - with their dog. I don't feel anyone other than the guests using the house should be using the rented facilities. Seemed odd, but since we weren't planning to use the sauna that morning, it really didn't matter. Just a thought for the owners to take note of.

Two of our party also went on a float on the upper with one of the guides at Drifters and had a really great trip. For those of you that stay here, it really only makes sense to do a float or float/fishing trip during your stay. The Upper Kenai is one of the most beautiful short floats in Alaska!

Overall, a spectacular place to stay and will not hesitate to recommend this to others.

Room Tip: The Russian River House - period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosman, NSW, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were booked into Cabin 6 here by our travel agent in Alaska, as it was supposed to be the best accommodation here in Cooper Landing. We hope it is the worst place he has booked us into, otherwise I am filled with trepidation and disillusioned with travel agents. We are paying more here for a cabin than we paid for a suite with full service at the Alyeska Hotal in Girdwood. There are no services at all. Our breakfast was included and we were leaving at 5 am for a day of fishing. The proprietor assured us breakfast would be ready in the dining room well before we left. The staff arrived late so there was no breakfast, other than some stale food she hurriedly put on the table. Inedible! . They do not make beds, replace towels, clear the trash from the rooms, etc, until you complain! One should never have to complain..All in all, a disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjpooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Our guide, grant, was excellent. He spent an incredible amount of time getting us into fish! Would recommend hima and drifters' lodge!

We were one of first boats in the water and one of the last boats out. A great day all around.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Russell411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
3.4 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
109 reviews
15.4 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooper Landing
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
347 reviews
18.5 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
10.6 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifter's Lodge

Property: Drifter's Lodge
Address: 18404 Sterling Hwy, Cooper Landing, AK 99572-9723 (Formerly Kenai River Drifter's Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cooper Landing
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kenai River Drifters Hotel Cooper Landing
Drifter's Lodge Cooper Landing, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing