We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Drifter's Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifter's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a great place to spend a few days. Right by a large river, lovely natural fire for an enjoyable evening, comfy rooms, offers good help with what to see and do such as fishing. Laid back attitude but not laid back service.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a river view, but nearer the river would be quieter
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHornblow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Drifter's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 169 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

I can't say enough about the amazing people at Drifters Lodge. The rooms and cabins are comfortable and clean as well as located in beautiful Cooper Landing Alaska!! These folks do it right...from the continental breakfast in the morning to the sauna to the campfire at night nothing is overlooked by Bob, Stephanie and the rest of the crew.
Did I mention that they also have the BEST fishing guides around??
If you want to get away from the rat race or do some fishing or any of the activities these guys have to offer I give them two huge thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akfiregirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I did a 1/2 day guided fishing trip with Drifters Lodge on the Kenai River in early July. I booked the trip using my 2 for 1 toursaver coupon with Bob the owner and he was very friendly and informative about our trip.
Our guide Dan was absolutely fantastic! He called me the day before our trip to see what type of fishing experience we had and what type of fishing we were used to. I told him we both fish but were not experienced in fly fishing for trout. He said he would bring the spin tackle we were used to using and would also bring fly rods if we wanted to try fly fishing since this is the way people fish for Trout on the Kenai.
We arrived at the Lodge met Dan got our fishing licences and were off to put the boat in. Dan does everything from giving us good safety instruction to getting our tackle ready and teaching us an easy way to fly fish.
Dan is very knowledgeable and passionate about fishing. He is also very patient and a great teacher!.
My wife who has never fly fished caught the first of many fish (which by the way the biggest of the day) a 23" "Dolly Varden" Trout. We both caught many fish and would highly recommend Drifters Lodge and especially our guide Dan.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank stlmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We just got back from our Alaskan vacation to the Kenai Peninsula and spent 4 nights at Drifters Lodge. IT WAS PERFECT!!! From the very beginning stages of planning our trip, Bob was super helpful in every aspect. We were really excited about salmon fishing so he helped us book our full day King Salmon trip (which was TOTALLY awesome!!!). We were blessed to fish with Corey that day and caught 3 Kings with our 7 year old son!

Our cabin was the most comfortable accommodation we had in Alaska in that it was super spacious and had an upstairs bedroom, which was great for our little guy. The room comes with a t.v. and DVD player so we brought some of our favorite movies and watched them each night as we tried to get used to the long Alaskan summer hours of daylight (after the 1st night, we were used to it....probably just wiped out from all of the fun we were having all day long!). There was also a boxfan in our room which my perimenopausal self appreciated GREATLY (shriveling ovaries are no fun!), not that it was hot by any means but I like "air" on my face when I sleep. LOVED IT!

The heater worked wonders when we wanted it to - warmed us up in minutes! The included refrigerator and microwave was handy to have, too. We bought lots of snacks in Soldotna (they have a Safeway there) and just munched for breakfast and lunch. The beds were super comfy, there was plenty of hot water and the many windows allowed us to appreciate the magnificent views of the surrounding mountains and the mighty Kenai river! Awesome!

The lodge grounds were immaculate. They keep everything so clean! We really enjoyed the evening campfires, right next to the beautiful river. We got to meet some very nice people and share our fishing stories and Alaskan adventures. It was a perfect way to end each day.

We also used Drifters Lodge for our river rafting trip. We did the 3 hour and even though we were rained on the last 1/2, we had a blast (we were prepared with rain gear). John and Marisa, our guides, were a wealth of knowledge on the area and it's history/flowers/critters, etc. The water of the river is so pretty - it's ulike any river we've ever seen! Loved this trip!

We can't wait to book our next trip to Alaska and when we do, Drifters Lodge will the FIRST place we book with! Well done, Bob and company!! Thanks for such an awesome trip!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flossboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Luckily we had a beautiful day. Sunny and warm! Trip was loads of fun and guides were excellent. Very customer friendly. Strongly recommend the 3 hour drift!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ashevilleguy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I had a four night stay at the cabins and were overwhelmingly pleased! The cabins were more than sufficient and in great shape. Bob, the owner, was so very helpful in planning many details of our trip before we left Indiana. I was at a loss of how to make plans from so far away and he spent at least an hour over the span of a couple of days helping me with ideas, costs and companies to use. These cabins are great for an Alaskan getaway! Every cabin seemed to have a great view though they are all close together--the lodge design was perfectly suited. It's located in a very small town but within an hour drive of serveral other great towns!

Room Tip: Like I said, all cabins seemed to have a clear shot of the view--gorgeous mountains! I like cabins...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TadandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Drifters was the perfect place for us to stay early September 2011. The team made us feel welcome and at home and provided great tips on where to go to see wildlife and days out. The accommodation is located on the Kenai with great views on the river from the living room. lodge's main living room. The fishing guide (Matty) knew his stuff and got us on to some great fishing. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller09Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
26.6 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Cooper Landing
112 reviews
15.4 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
93 reviews
15.1 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
34 reviews
18.5 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
10.6 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifter's Lodge

Address: 18404 Sterling Hwy, Cooper Landing, AK 99572-9723 (Formerly Kenai River Drifter's Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cooper Landing
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kenai River Drifters Hotel Cooper Landing
Drifter's Lodge Cooper Landing, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing