We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lodgings, great staff, awesome guides”
Review of Drifter's Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifter's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good lodgings, great staff, awesome guides”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We never knew what to expect on our first trip to Alaska, other than we knew it was not going to be cheap - but you get what you pay for! We were thrilled with the hospitality and professionalism exhibited to my family and me, especially their interactions with my kids. With a busy office to run (a fruit of their excellence), Bob, Stephanie, and the rest of the folks always were courteous and patient. My family was disappointed to leave Drifters at the end of our time in the north. We went on two fishing trips and a scenic river float, and Matty and Kevin are the two guides we used - excellent all the way around. We truly had a vacation of a lifetime and Drifters was a big part of making it so.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
36
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sitka, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The accomodation was good, probally the best fishing lodge i have stayed in. Bob the owner and his staff are very friendy and helpful trying to cater for your needs. Like the rest of Alaska, this wasn't the cheapest place to stay but the effort made by the staff to go the extra mile made up for it. Mattie, oneof the fishing guides, was brilliant he worked the drift boat with and against the current to make sure we had a chance to catch a King salmon. Thanks to you Bob, Mattie and all the staff.

Room Tip: A good base to see Kenai area and of course fishing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raytozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I have been fortunate enough to travel to all ends of the globe fly fishing with my father for about the last 20 years and have never experienced such perfection as Drifters. From the cabins, the fishing, the owners on site ensuring your satisfaction, the guides, the views from the property, the waterfront sauna....... this place is heaven on earth. Top shelf operation that we will be returning too yearly, anyone looking for TROPHY rainbow trout book a trip to Drifters and you will not be sorry, worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDH1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

i found out about drifters last year when i worked at another lodge in the same area last year, and decided to stay there this year when my fiancee and i had a little getaway. let me first say that if you go through cooper landing, a lot of the other places look a little run down, not drifters though! we were met by steph and the owner in the office, and were taken down to see our cabin. it was just what we were looking for, quiet, clean, and very comfortable. once we got checked in, we booked a king salmon trip, which was the reason we had come down to the kenai for the weekend. we were told when would be the best time to go, and decided that we would take the suggestion. meanwhile, we relaxed by the campfire, had a few drinks, and met some nice people, most of all was the staff, they were down by the fire, and what a genuinely nice group of people, all funny, kind, and just a joy to be around. we found out that we could go to seward and snag sockeyes from some other guests, and off we went the next day. on the day of our drift boat trip we were going to be with one of their guides matty, what an awesome day, i hooked up a few times, as did my fiancee, kings can be a bit tricky to catch, but matty did everything he could to make sure we had every opportunity to catch fish, he backrowed, put us in all the good holes, just an awesome guide. overall i would say it was the best weekend i could have asked for, we are going to stay there every chance we get this summer. thank you everybody at drifters for making it a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pminnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2011

the rpricefor the cabin was reasonable the owner showed us the cabin himself and gave us a great price for the beggining of the season the cabin was really clean and the beds comfortabls. will definetly go back

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boris080872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

They had a nice firepit down by the river, and lots of fishing options. There was no noticeable hiking options from there. The free breakfast was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvaakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed 3 nights here in June on our first Alaska trip. This was based solely on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Bob was very helpful to me in planning several aspects of my entire trip even before we booked the cabins. We were 3 adults traveling together...stayed one night in Cabin 2 and then moved to Cabin 6. Cabin 6 is bigger, with an actual eating table which was nicer for 3 days than the bar area in Cabin 2.

The area is lovely and quiet. We spent a LOT of time sitting by the fire and enjoying the scenery....watching the bald eagles and the river and swapping fish stories with the others. The breakfasts were plentiful. Gwin's Lodge is right down the road with a restaurant which is also where we got sack lunches for the fishing trip day. We took a fishing trip and that was wonderful also. Maddy was our guide and he was awesome.

We would happily stay there again. I do agree with another reviewer that the beds are VERY VERY VERY soft and cushiony.....we did sleep OK but could be a challenge for some people : ) This is NOT an upper class Marriott etc. but we found it very pleasant, clean and enjoyable. The other visitors I saw were all fishermen.....buddies, granddads/dads with sons, etc. The pictures I see here are all accurate representations of the way it looked when we were there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
3.4 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
109 reviews
15.4 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooper Landing
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
347 reviews
18.5 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
10.6 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifter's Lodge

Property: Drifter's Lodge
Address: 18404 Sterling Hwy, Cooper Landing, AK 99572-9723 (Formerly Kenai River Drifter's Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cooper Landing
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kenai River Drifters Hotel Cooper Landing
Drifter's Lodge Cooper Landing, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing