We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cooper Landing
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great restaurant”
Review of Gwin's Lodge

Gwin's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The historic Gwin's Lodge is located in Cooper Landing in the Kenai Peninsula in south central Alaska, which is known as "Alaska's playground." We are the closest lodging near the confluence of two world-class salmon streams - the Kenai River and the Russian River. Gwin's Lodge is open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and has 17 cabins that can each accommodate 4 to to 6 guests with two cottage houses that can each accommodate up to 12 guests.
Reviewed July 30, 2017

Fantastic table service. Three thumbs up to Sarah, Amelia and Erica. They served us like family always smiling. They made our salmon fishing that much more enjoyable. WOW

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank J1497LCthomasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

That makes our day! Thanks for the great review! 5 Stars greatly appreciated! We try to please and appreciate 5 star responses! I hope all is well back home. Come back again next year! Cabin booking is online with automatic discounts and multi-night discounts that grow the longer the stay. GwinsLodge online!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and service. We set out on the porch which is enclosed. This restaurant is on the river and has a great View. The staff was friendly and efficient. There is an outdoor patio area that is nice too explore as well.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank ShelahF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Gwin's Lodge - Milepost 52 on the far west side of Cooper Landing. The last business before the second Kenai River bridge and before the Russian River campground and ferry. We hope to be open this Winter everyone so drop in if coming this way! We can't do it without support and business. The utilities are very high so we appreciate every stop you make! We will have steak specials all Winter! We also added snow crab and calamari. Thanks, Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

Friendly, quick service. Very large delicious breakfasts. Thanks, Erica it was get meeting you. This place is what Alaska is all about.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thanks for your 5 Star review! Drop in again! Cabins onsite make for a great retreat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

everything was great but the service was phenomenal, after seeing everything from nature to fishing we didn't think it could get any better until we got to Gwin's and had the greatest server of all time, Ryan he was great!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traddporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thanks for your 5 STAR reviews and thank you Ryan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

The staff are extremely friendly. The food was awesome. I had the rib eye steak and the boys had the Halibut. All of it tasted amazing. I would really recommend this place

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Legsi1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Thank you we are always trying to improve. If there should ever be an issue let us know right away so we can address it! Thanks for the 5 stars! Some people use an absolute scale comparing us to unreasonable levels and not in the proportion to the amount spent and conditions we work in trying to run a busy restaurant where supplies are difficult and labor is often from out of state. Thanks, Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwin's Lodge also viewed

 
Cooper Landing, AK
 

Been to Gwin's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing