We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cooper Landing
Post
Inbox
Search

“RYAN!”
Review of Gwin's Lodge

Gwin's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The historic Gwin's Lodge is located in Cooper Landing in the Kenai Peninsula in south central Alaska, which is known as "Alaska's playground." We are the closest lodging near the confluence of two world-class salmon streams - the Kenai River and the Russian River. Gwin's Lodge is open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and has 17 cabins that can each accommodate 4 to to 6 guests with two cottage houses that can each accommodate up to 12 guests.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

everything was great but the service was phenomenal, after seeing everything from nature to fishing we didn't think it could get any better until we got to Gwin's and had the greatest server of all time, Ryan he was great!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traddporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thanks for your 5 STAR reviews and thank you Ryan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

The staff are extremely friendly. The food was awesome. I had the rib eye steak and the boys had the Halibut. All of it tasted amazing. I would really recommend this place

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Legsi1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Thank you we are always trying to improve. If there should ever be an issue let us know right away so we can address it! Thanks for the 5 stars! Some people use an absolute scale comparing us to unreasonable levels and not in the proportion to the amount spent and conditions we work in trying to run a busy restaurant where supplies are difficult and labor is often from out of state. Thanks, Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

The food is great (try the reindeer sausage); the portions are large (better be hungry); the prices are reasonable!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank H944RLmichaelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Thank you and thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. Another recent comment via email "Gwin's and Alaska were incredible! We had a blast and appreciate the excellent accommodations and bookings. We will be back but have to rest up a bit first. "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017

It was Fourth of July and many of the other restaurants were closed by the evening time. We stumbled upon Gwen's and it was wonderful! We all enjoyed our food...good portions and reasonable prices! Very casual but comfortable.....highly recommend! Great service!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donna142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Great and thank you for your business! Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017

Delicious warm pie and very friendly wait staff. We had huckleberry, marion berry and blueberry. The chowder was good too.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank leesB9522FX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Excellent! Glad we could make your day special. That is our goal! Online ordering for to go food in now available. Email us if interested!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwin's Lodge also viewed

 
Cooper Landing, AK
 

Been to Gwin's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing