We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cooper Landing
Post
Inbox
Search

“delicious chowder on a chilly day”
Review of Gwin's Lodge

Gwin's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The historic Gwin's Lodge is located in Cooper Landing in the Kenai Peninsula in south central Alaska, which is known as "Alaska's playground." We are the closest lodging near the confluence of two world-class salmon streams - the Kenai River and the Russian River. Gwin's Lodge is open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and has 17 cabins that can each accommodate 4 to to 6 guests with two cottage houses that can each accommodate up to 12 guests.
Reviewed June 3, 2017

Stopped here on a rainy Sunday on our way from Anchorage to Homer. Had read about their salmon chowder, and planned this stop as our lunch break. Glad we did - service was friendly (thanks, Amelia), and the chowder was the perfect tonic to a damp, chilly day. This was the weekend before Memorial Day, and we were disappointed to find that it wasn't open when we left Homer for Seward a couple of days later. Probably open every day in season. We would highly recommend stopping

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Thanks! Yes we are open 7 days a week now. 9A-9P and starting 6/10/17 from 8A-10P. Try our famous CARROT CAKE next time also! We will be having our NEW adjacent kitchen open for "fast food" and packed lunches soon, located to the right of Gwin's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2017

We really liked this place. We met a retired fishing guide (can't remember his name) who gave us some advice about hikes nearby as well as fishing. The burger was really good!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank SamJoPoehlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2017

We use premium Angus burger! If there is ever a problem let us know right then so we can fix anything that needs attention. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch while travelling back from a long weekend. Menu looked good but they were out of basically everything but burgers! We should have left at this point but we stayed!

Awful burger with greasy, tasteless meat, and cheap American cheese. Room was cold.

Won't visit again, though server was friendly.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Hello. We do a soft pre-season open with a basic menu. We just opened the day prior. Sorry that you had that experience, I wish you would have given us a chance to address your complaints while you were here. We do appreciate the input. We would have made it right and brought another blanket if the room was not heating fast enough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016

Really friendly staff and super cute lodged to stay in. Excellent breakfast food also! I went here in July & attended a party/band in the back yard. Really fun time! The Russian River is just across the road, with a beautiful view!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review! Come again! See our music schedule on our GwinsLodge Facebook music page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016

We had several good meals on our Alaska trip, and this was one. The chili was very good, and the pie even better. My friend had halibut and loved it—she also really liked the fries. Nothing fancy but hearty and good, and the atmosphere is fun—relaxed, warm, cheery. It was exactly what we needed after a long rain-drenched drive to reach Cooper Landing.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linnea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Thank you! Come again every year like many do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwin's Lodge also viewed

 
Cooper Landing, AK
 

Been to Gwin's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing