We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cooper Landing
Post
Inbox
Search

“Good Breakfast”
Review of Gwin's Lodge

Gwin's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The historic Gwin's Lodge is located in Cooper Landing in the Kenai Peninsula in south central Alaska, which is known as "Alaska's playground." We are the closest lodging near the confluence of two world-class salmon streams - the Kenai River and the Russian River. Gwin's Lodge is open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and has 17 cabins that can each accommodate 4 to to 6 guests with two cottage houses that can each accommodate up to 12 guests.
Reviewed August 29, 2015

We ate breakfast here when we were staying at the Kenai Princess Lodge close-by and were heading for a day trip to Homer. This is a nice cozy family diner which serves affordable breakfast dishes. I tried fried eggs and toast with coffee and hash brown. It was done really well and I enjoyed the taste. The eggs were done just like I ordered and the potatoes were freshly made and it was perfect. The prices are low given that we are in Alaska. The waitress was friendly and the service was great. Highly recommended given there are not too many places close-by to eat.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Teletubbie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

"It was done really well and I enjoyed the taste. The eggs were done just like I ordered and the potatoes were freshly made and it was perfect. The prices are low given that we are in Alaska. The waitress was friendly and the service was great. Highly recommended"

It is a pleasure to serve you and thanks for letting us know you enjoyed our efforts! That is much appreciated! Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 184 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2015

We had chili and salads, food was excellent, service was prompt even though they were busy. Had a good beer with the chili. A bit noisy. This is right on the road and one of the few restaurants around. Very casual. Service was prompt, even though they were busy. Good service.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fiddlestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

"food was excellent, service was prompt even though they were busy"

Great to have you and we are glad to serve you! Thanks for the great feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2015

For two ladies this was an experience at a fisherman type cabin. Real woodsy feel, no TV. Definitely do a WET cabin but the restrooms were convenient to the cabin area. Restaurant was within walking distance. Food was average but nothing special. Price was reasonable.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

Glad you had a good Alaskan time! Burgers are our specialty but we keep a bigger menu than we should because there are few choices around this area and we don't want people having to get the same thing each time. It is hard to make everything over the top good with our short operating season, lower range prices and limited staff. Yet we don't cut corners and try to make everything great so please let us know if there is ever an issue so it can be corrected right then. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2015

Very plain looking restaurant along Sterling Highway. Just happened to stop here at supper time. Very plain non descript interior attached to a place with cabins. But wow, the food was really surprisingly good. My wife loved her fish and chips, I really liked my chicken sandwich which was cooked just right and had very interesting flavors that Were just right. A cut above the usual food and the prices were very reasonable. Service was polite and helpful. Nice selection. We're not talking gourmet here but really not what you expect from the outside facade.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank chaimlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

THANK YOU and come back again when you are near. We appreciate our customers! Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015

I had read about the smoked salmon chowder - it did not disappoint. Fantastic, awesome, and all it was cracked up to be. The wings and salad were good too.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank marcobob50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

Great to have you in! Thanks for your support & visit again! Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwin's Lodge also viewed

 
Cooper Landing, AK
 

Been to Gwin's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing