We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a blast of an Alaskan experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prospector John's Gold-N-Paddle

Prospector John's Gold-N-Paddle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: My property is in Cooper Landing nestled in the Kenai Mountains and next to the beautiful Kenai Lake. We are approx 2/1/4 mile from where the Kenai Lake dumps into the start of Kenai River. We teach prospecting and gold panning skills and you learn how to find gold starting with a shovel and raw river gravel.We also have gem and fossil panning, my own brand of wild meat jerky, mining and prospecting supplies and a small gift shop with Alaskan made gifts. We also have a full day prospecting and back country excursion into the wilderness where you can see the Alaskan wilderness up close and prospect for gold in a wild stream if you so desire...
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a blast of an Alaskan experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just returned from our alaskan adventure and oh my what fun. Spent a lot of time in Seward and then was heading to Homer when we passed by this place. we decided to take a little break from driving and went into the shop. found the cutest pair of earrings that was made by a friend of the proprietor and they are REAL alaskan made. no china made thank god. I tried my hand at the sluice box and very fun. would like to try it on the river once i get the hang of it. John was so helpful and patient with me and my husband (well husband had a knack for it) in teaching me what each part of the sluicing i was doing. i got my vial to take home. hopefully sometime in the future can make a trip again when money isnt such an issue. thanks to john and judi for all their welcoming and helpfulness. i highly recommend at least stopping in.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank AmandaS758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was an amazing time !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

From beginning to end. This was our first trip to Alaska and needed/wanted all the Alaskan experience we could get. Found Prospector John's as heading to Kenai for friend time and it was the best "side route" we ever had. My daughter had a blast learning to gold pan (but you know that kids are so impatient to get to the treat hahahaha. John was very helpful and knowledgeable.... like a big teddy bear. All I can say is I highly recommend Prospector Johns if you are in the area. IF we go back to Alaska on another vacation (I hope too some day) Prospector Johns will definitely be on our radar

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Myrna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospectorjohns, Owner at Prospector John's Gold-N-Paddle, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thanks for the kind words.....the part of my job I like the best is to see young ones get excited about gold gems and fosils. The credit goes to you and your daughter....your excitement spurs mine and that always means greater fun and good times....hope to see you again...and thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
204 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Host was very helpful and informative. Gold is for souvenir. Can'[t really find a place to sell it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank carolc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mamma Brown and her cubs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I set out with prospector John and another guy from Oklahome. We were bushwacking through some heavy growth back to John's secret gold panning stream. Soon, John sniffed and indicated he thought he smelled a bear in the area. Sure enough, she stood up, growled and off she went with her two cubs. It was obvious afterwards that John was shook - but I was too dumb to know the potential danger - maybe it was a scrape with death. But, we got to our spot on the stream, did some digging, sluicing and panning and I came away with a nugget about the size of a half a dime. It was a great adventure that I would gladly do again - as long as that Alaskan Brown runs away and not decides to come after us. But then, John had his trusty 12 gauge with an armour piercing slug in the shell so I guess we would have had a first line of defense. Otherwise, my belt buckle and cell phone would been later discovered in a pile of bear scat:) Ray

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospectorjohns, Owner at Prospector John's Gold-N-Paddle, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thanks for the review....That was one exciting trip I keep talking about it. Curious if you got some pics of the baby eagles making their first flight that we saw prior to Mama bear. I would love to have some pics of that trip if you have them. Hope to see you in Cooper landing again, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prospector John's Gold-N-Paddle also viewed

 

Been to Prospector John's Gold-N-Paddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing