We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It too good and IT'S TRUE !!”
Review of Stevenson Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stevenson Retreat
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It too good and IT'S TRUE !!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Well I actually don't like to write reviews but I will do Stevenson Resort injustice if I don't. A beautiful log cabin with B&B on the banks of the Kenai River, looking out over the blue water thinking about the salmon run in the river (we missed it,we were too early). You need to keep a sharp lookout for the small signage, thus it pretty exclusive- no walk in. Kate was excellent host she advise us on where to look out for good and inexpensive meals. Breakfast was great, french toast, klish, yogurt, fresh fruit, and coffee and juice. She have nice cozy bedrooms (ideal for families), pretty decorations (almost want to keep everything). see mooses in her backyard . We enjoyed the stay, wished we have stayed longer! By the way Kate, no bananas for fruits for fisherman when you packet their breakfast, its taboo. Thank God for blessing I caught one 25 Ibs. Peter,Janice,Peter,Christine,Lilian

Room Tip: Book as early as possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjweb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stevenson retreat B&B is a beautiful log cabin on the banks of the Kenai River. We looked out over the blue water each morning for breakfast. The host was excellent and helped us plan our day. Breakfast was french toast (best we have ever had....sorry Mom), Yogurt, fresh fruit, and Coffee and Juice. We loved this romantic and cozy bed and breakfast. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeatclemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

What a fantastic place to stay while you enjoy the surrounding area. Kate is the best! Breakfast at the time you specify--and believe me, you won't go away hungry!! We shared the entire downstairs with our son and wife--it was like being home. Great accommodations and interesting decor. Have nothing but good things to say about this Retreat. And, don't forget the bottomless "cookie jar". A+ in our book.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I can't say enough about this B & B. Kate goes out of her way to make you feel at home with all of the little things from comfy robes and slippers to the wonderful breakfasts she provides at a time that is convenient for you! You could not ask for a better host, location or nicer place to stay. The B & B sits on a bluff right over the beautiful Kenai River and we were able to relax on the deck every day and look at the river, mountains, and wildlife. Kate was able to provide us with a lot of information of the area from history to things to see and do. My husband loves Cooper Landing because of the great fishing and now I love it because I've found a place I intend to stay each time we are in this area. You know you are in Alaska even when you are inside due to the charming way Kate has decorated her home with Alaskan crafts in each nook and crannie. We were both very happy we choose to stay here and plan to each time we visit the area in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinook86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria,Va
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Oh my....our only complaint was we didn't stay longer! Kate is the perfect B&B hostess, with a self-created sanctuary for the senses. Every detail is perfection and still she retains an extraordinarily cozy, comfortable setting. It's obvious she loves what she does.

This is perfect for those who want to explore the surrounding area or those who just want to sit by the water and read or watch nature. There are several pleasant restaurants nearby as well as a small grocery and a quilt shop.

Rooms and baths are spacious and beautifully decorated. There are stairs, even to the first level. We enjoyed going to the second level for breakfast - gorgeous view there too - but Kate is more than willing to bring breakfast to you if you wish. Breakfasts were excellent and very generous.

We hope to return one day....for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Cooper Landing is a small town on the Kenai Peninsular just over an hours drive from Anchorage. Here the Kenai Lake flows into the magnificent Kenai River and the area is surrounded by mountains and wonderful scenery. However, don't pass through without making an overnight stop at Stevenson Retreat where you'll receive a genuine warm welcome from host, Kate. The house is in lovely well kept gardens, is set back from the main road and backs onto the river. The accommodation is homely and stunning - we had one of two rooms on the ground floor and enjoyed the use of the guest's lounge and kitchenette. Fresh coffee is left for you in the lounge of a morning and all those homely touches are there - cookies, chocs etc. Breakfast is served on the first floor at a time which suits you and the food is second to none. There are good local friendly eateries for dinner, as well as shops, fuel etc. Stevenson Retreat is a real gem, enhanced by the friendliness of the host and the quality of breakfast. This is a MUST when you're on 'The Kenai'.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TnJuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
0.0 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.0 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooper Landing
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevenson Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevenson Retreat

Property: Stevenson Retreat
Address: PO Box 817, Cooper Landing, AK 99572-0817
Location: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cooper Landing
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Stevenson Retreat Cooper Landing, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing