We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, scenic ride on Kenai River”

Alaska Wildland Adventures
Ranked #1 of 26 Tours in Cooper Landing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alaska Wildland Adventures (AWA) - AWA's style of travel offers guests a high quality, small-group, interactive experience without compromising - or over-emphasizing - comfort. With our focus on keeping things small, and maximizing experiences, you are sure to enjoy the guided hiking, rafting, kayaking, marine wildlife and glacier cruises, delicious meals and more.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing, scenic ride on Kenai River”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I did the scenic river float on Kenai river with Alaska Wildland Adventures. Our guide Alisha was awesome and we had a very good experience with the 2 hr river cruise. Not only did our guide make us feel at ease, she also shared a lot of information with us regarding the wildlife and the landscape of Alaska. We did the 9.30 am cruise and it was very relaxing...it started of cloudy but once we were on the cruise, the sun came out and it looked beautiful and amazing. We highly recommend Alaska Wildland Adventures and their friendly, courteous staff and truly enjoyed the scenic river float...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel1720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisMalecha, Director of Sales at Alaska Wildland Adventures, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you! The Kenai River is a gorgeous place, so a nice easy float gives you plenty of time to take in the sites and relax on the water. Hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    3
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CONCORD
Level Contributor
188 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Easy trip, mild rapids”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you want to spend a really relaxing afternoon in Alaska, floating down water and taking in the sights, this is the trip for you. Our guide, Simmons, was just the kind of person to guide you down the river. He answered all of the questions but he was also content to let people just enjoy the trip without talking too much. The rapids were really mild (I was expecting something a little more exciting but that was OK) and the trip was really easy. The lunch that we were served was really terrific as there was a great selection of food and it was not just sandwiches and potato chips, which was kind of what I expected. It was a sunny day so it was just a beautiful ride (bring a hat) and well worth it. The company supplies pants and jackets but you barely needed them unless you were in the front of the boat. We did not see much wildlife along the way apart from the fish in the water but the sights were really nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveleasier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisMalecha, Director of Sales at Alaska Wildland Adventures, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Canyon Raft Trip! Its always nice to hear that the little touches we hope make the trip great for guests really do make a difference! I'll be sure to let the staff at the Kenai Riverside Lodge in Cooper Landing know you appreciated the guides, trip and lunch. Come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2hr boat ride”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

The day was rainy. They greeted us with a smile at every stage of our trip. We were suited up with rain gear from head to toe. They even gave us a zip lock bag for out camera.

Once in the raft, all we had to do was just sit and look for wildlife. On our trip we saw one brown bear, many-many bald eagles, some dall sheep (just white speck on the mountain side), and too many salmon to count. Also many fishermen. Because of the cold, 2hours seemed long, but of it were sunny, it would have been much better.

Not much of a rapid, but it was a 'floating' trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Morladode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisMalecha, Director of Sales at Alaska Wildland Adventures, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Glad you had a great trip on the Kenai! The abundance of wildlife, along with the river, mountains and wilderness views, are beautiful rain or shine. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural ak
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“alaska rafting and hiking at it's best!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Raft along the sparking Kenai river and keep your eyes open for bears and other wildlife! This rafting trip is perfect for kids and first timers. They provide you with boots and waterproof gear in case you get splashed on! There is a shorter and longer trip. They both begin the same but the longer one takes you through a canyon and in a lake. Go for the longer canyon trip, it's relaxing and fun and you have more opportunity to see wildlife! ( make sure you dress warm) This company is the best. They have been here forever and the guides all seem to be having a blast!
Also, you can take a guided hike through the forest. My hike up to the falls to see salmon spawning was one of the most amazing nature experiences of my life!
If you have more than one day you can stay in their cute cabins on the Kenai river. Make sure you have drinks on the deck at sunset! Kids can enjoy a campfire, volleyball, badminton or a walk through camp.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisMalecha, Director of Sales at Alaska Wildland Adventures, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks Meg M, the guides ARE having a blast, we're glad you can tell! I see you are from Alaska; all three of our Kenai Peninsula lodges make excellent "Staycations" for our Alaskan friends, as well as destinations for out-of-state guests. Glad you took the time for this review, hope we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A highlight for the kids”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Since we were staying at the excellent Kenai River Sportfishing Lodge, we added on a 2-hour river float in the morning (a bit of a discount if you stay there, and we used a coupon in the Northern Lights book). My two sons, 12 and 9, had never been rafting, so we took the easy float trip. Our guide Todd was fun and informative. His safety talk was thorough, and he made sure we were comfortably outfitted in rubber boots and outerwear. As we kept our eyes out for wildlife, he talked about the river and animals. We saw a couple bald eagles very close up, and loads of salmon in the river, along with just beautiful scenery. Todd let the boys take a turn at the oars in the calmest waters and tried to help them steer to get mom splashed! As we got in the van to ride back to the lodge, a bear crossed the road in front of us! It was a wonderful morning. This group organizes much bigger rafting and fishing trips, but Todd made us feel important too. I can imagine everything they do is high-quality.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dee818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisMalecha, Director of Sales at Alaska Wildland Adventures, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks "Dee818"! The 2-hour float trip on the Kenai is a great way to experience rafting as a family. Glad you had such a good time, and I"ll pass on your review to Todd too. He'll be happy to hear you had such a good time. Come back again for the longer 7-hour trip - there's a little Class II+ action on that one as you make your way through the Canyon. Just a few bumps and splashes...plus a shoreside picnic that is pretty outstanding too. Sounds like you had a great day on the river!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Wildland Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Wildland Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing