We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cooper Landing
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
Wackadoodle!

I had a fabulous time w/ Chad on the Kenai! As a long time fisherman, I learned a lot from Chad... read more

Reviewed July 7, 2019
captnbobClayton
,
clayton
Trip of a Lifetime - Limited out before anyone on the river!

My Aunt and I had a spectacular time on the river with Chad. Chad is an amazing person who is... read more

Reviewed June 26, 2019
calebkleven
,
Raleigh, North Carolina
Read all 16 reviews
  
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
16
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
16
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dolly varden trout the river chad teacher equipment fly rainbow trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 16 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2016

If you're looking for the best guide on the Kenai than look no further than the " Boatman ". Our guide Chad ( the boatman himself ) was extremely knowledgeable, patient, and most importantly, he put us on the fish. Honestly since the surroundings are so majestic the fish catching part is kind of a bonus, but when that first bite occurs and your drag is screaming you'll be glad you choose Chad.

Boatman's has access to the exclusive " Refuge " where the first fish of the day was a 40lb King. Different techniques are his specialty and being from the Midwest I was right at home with trolling the channel on Skilak lake for trophy salmon. After trolling it was off to fly fishing the Kenai which is exactly how you would imagine, extremely scenic, and fun can't even begin to describe it.

Everyone in our group had an awesome experience fishing with Chad and we cannot wait to return.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank barrass0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 22, 2017

Thanks for your kind response! It would be a pleasure to fish with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016

Very knowledgable and resourceful, Captain Chad showed us three new methods for catching trout and salmon. All were successful. Our outings consisted of continual vantage points for successful fishing and scenery.
I have chartered fishing boats before, but this unforgetful trip was clearly the best.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016

My mother and I just fished with Chad on the Kenai River for red salmon and had the best time. Mother is getting older and he was so patient with her, helping her walk in the river and teaching her how to catch fish. She caught the first salmon of the day early in the morning and he coached though the whole thing. Chad is very respectful and made sure we were having a great time all day. He set me up to catch some trout as well and I caught a nice rainbow. I would recommend him to people of all ages and skill levels, he is a great guide and he's extremely knowledgable about the Kenai. We will be fishing with him again.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank kfrannyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews