We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable heavenly back to nature experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matriki Beach Huts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matriki Beach Huts
Certificate of Excellence
calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Affordable heavenly back to nature experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

A whole long, soft, white, sandy beach for yourself to snorkel, kayak, wade, walk, star gaze.
Back to nature life style.
Very reasonable price.
Great BBQ amongst trees and fire on the sand.
Sea adventure with Mattias not to miss.
Rent a moped and have fun.
Water shoes, sunblock, insects coils, bathing suits are all you need.
I have beautiful photos but do not know how to post them. Anyone willing to help?

Room Tip: The three beach huts are ideals
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank datjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    26
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
101
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Loved Matriki and its simple style, this is my idea of a typical Pacific island experience. Simple but clean accommodation right on the beach and really friendly people, also love the outdoor shower. Unfortunately Mattias was away but Colleen and Simon were great with making sure that I had everything I needed but also in giving me space to do my own thing.

Room Tip: Was in both the beach hut and the garden unit and beach hut was better hands down, mainly due to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

No question, Matriki beach huts has a superb location. The snorkel right in front of the beach is amazing, the beach itself clean and really quiet. Great for a bonfire at night or a barbecue with friends. Aitutaki itself is well worth the stay. At Matriki's, we stayed in the beachfront hut. The interior is simple but everything you need to be self-sufficient is there : gas cooker, pans and ustensiles. The bed is not the fluffiest but you get used to it and it has a good mosquito net. The veranda is a nice place to hang out, just avoid the mosquito rush hour at dusk.

All in all the place is great if it wasn't for the grumpy owner Mathias. As soon as he picked us up from the airport he became pushy regarding his boat trips and assumed our "we will see" meant "yes". Instead of demanding confirmation, he ended up banging on our door the next morning and just wouldn't admit this was a misunderstanding. Also, at the tourist information center they offer similar trips for half the price (35NZD instead of 85NZD). Overall you can't help the feeling Mathias is only after your wallet. We have been travelling for over 6 months in South America and NZ and it was the first time we felt so pressured. It's ok to run a business and wanting to make money but there are nicer ways to do so. Also don't expect any help in case of an emergency (like using his phone in order to call the hospital for instance !!!).

Eventually I guess the quality of your stay depends on who the manager will be. Obviously according to the reviews, there wasn't any such trouble with the previous managers. And the place still comes very close to paradise...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkingbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

If you are looking for a real easy going place, with fantastic view, a sunset in the transparent super clean water and snorkeling in front door your door, then go there. The room is fully equipped so you can cook (food is expensive in Cook islands ). It is quiet, bed is comfortable with mosquitoes nest, and well you can finally relax and spend the day as it pleases you. The bungalow is super cool! and with a natural shower, loved it.
I highly recommend the snorkeling trip with Matt. Amazing. I regret I spent only a week. Really want to go there again. Make sure you have mosquitoes spray with you. If you do not have your own snorkeling equipment you can get it from Matt. He also rents scooter, enjoyable way to discover the island. You just need to go to the police with your driving licence and get a local paper (10NZD) to be allowed to drive there. Welcome to paradise!
If you look to be entertained and luxury then forgot about it. The nice thing about this place is that you do your life and it feels good! Who does not like to watch the sunset with a cocktail and a fire? yep you can make ice, you have your own fridge :)

Room Tip: Just go there it is pure paradise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happy_Mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

If you want luxury - don't come here! If you want privacy and isolation - don't come here!
If you want a tropical holiday - with unlimited snorkeling opportunities a few feet from your beach hut - unbelievable sunsets, the opportunity to meet travellers from all over the world, the chance to unwind and relax and recharge your body, mind and soul, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lara67GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed in a few place when visiting Aitutaki and this hands down was my favourite. I meat great people and Matthias was an excellent host.
The location is perfect and the huts are great. If you looking for luxury then this place is not for you. However if you looking for a great place with some interesting people then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petrosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

As a family member of the writer of "Wolf in sheeps clothing" and who shared the same experience and stay at Matriki, I am writing to apologize for what are absolutely untrue critiques of our stay, as put forth in that review. I have formerly apologized to our hosts Matthais and Riki and would take this opportunity to clarify. I would at first draw the readers attention to the two very positive reviews on this page which offer a very different view of experience than the "Wolf" review. How could both be accurate? The answer lies within an individuals perception at a given moment.

The Wolf review was written in a state of reaction to perceived events which included among other things a total misunderstanding of our hosts cancellation policy, as it related to our decision to amend the length of our visit to Aitutaki and thus Matriki. That decision was based only on our choice to reconnect with friends arriving on Rarotonga, earlier than anticipated, and had nothing to do with conditions at Matriki. In truth Matriki was very clear on their website in this as well as all other regards.

In response to being charged for days which we did not actually stay (a policy clearly outlined on the website, along with a suggestion to consider travel insurance if considering a change of plans) we found Matthais to be most helpful in working with us to find guest replacements on short notice due to our leaving early. This he accomplished in a magically and deeply appreciated manner to the complete satisfaction of all involved.

In point of fact, we found the accommodations very clean, bug free, a plentiful supply of hot water, and yes the stove top was propane supplied as are the vast number of other guesthouses we've stayed at, as well as my own stove at home!

Our own decision to not take advantage of a lagoon tour and snorkeling trip with our host was predicated on electing to engage in other available island activities instead. There was no pressure to engage in any offered activities.

Finally, I would add that this is a most beautiful spot to vacation. There is a slow and relaxed atmosphere with wonderful sunsets off the western beach at this location. I would also like to thank Matthais for the insightful conversations we shared during our stay.

Steve

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.6 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matriki Beach Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matriki Beach Huts

Property: Matriki Beach Huts
Address: Anaunga, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet budget rustic self contained absolute beachfront huts on the nicest natural snorkeling and swimming beach on beautiful Aitutaki, Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Matriki Beach Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matriki Beach Huts Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing