We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great host and good value for money.”

Popoara Ocean Breeze Villas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aitutaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Popoara Ocean Breeze Villas
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, Great host and good value for money.”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

8 days spent at Popoara Ocean Breeze Villas in Aitutaki was a very pleasant experience. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and provided all the amenities a family would need.
Hosts Allen and Maria Mills who also run the adjacent Boatshed Bar and Restaurant, were very welcoming and made me feel right at home.
A great place to stay, very reasonably priced, right on the lagoon with car and scooter rentals available on site and the convenience of the Boatshed Bar, which serves great meals and is a great place to simply chill out!

Room Tip: All Villas are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robwhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
13
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2011

A short 40min flight from Raratonga, met at the airport and five mins to the 'Boat Shed"
The staff would arrange everything for you, from day trips to local visits. Rental cars and bikes (a must for the 14km round trip of the Island) available on site. excellent resturant with big range of food on the menu. Well stocked bar. The manager, Allan, lives on site and is well experienced in the ways of the islands and is most helpful.
I will be back there on my next trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great stand-alone units,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Campbell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Although units are more garden view does not detract from the property at all with the close proximity of everything at that end of the island.

Onsite rentals and a great restaurant with a deck over looking the reef passage adds to its advantages.
After visting aitutaki a few years ago this end of the island has developed with 4 eateries within strolling distance, fishing and tours next door,sailing club, one wants for nothing if looking for a relaxing Aitutaki holiday.

An ocean view would be at least double the price of here and you are but metres away from it anyway

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whaleoilbeefhooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

place was clean and very functional, but you go to the island for ocean and this place has too little of it for the price. Should be NZ$70 at most vs. 145. Boat Shed also terribly overpriced, small portion average food.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilJeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The damage caused by Cyclone Pat back in February is still being repaired so expect to see collapsed houses, buildings without roofs and relief tents almost everywhere on the island. The cyclone damage also explained why so little fresh fruit and vegetables were available for purchase at the roadside or in the shops.

Our initial impression was that we were isolated from the main community. We soon changed our mind cause everything we needed was right on the doorstep. The friendly folk in the office happily arranged tours, scooter hire etc.

The Boat shed is open for lunch and dinner. A word of caution - BOOK, as it is incredibly and justifiably popular. If you don't self cater, the place to go for breakfast and for coffee is the Kura Cafe - across the road.

The villas are spacious and very well equipped and are in an attractive garden setting. It is a short stroll to Ono Beach or a free boat ride to the Rarotongan Resort. Swimming is tide dependent. We suggest the best way to enjoy the lagoon and experience some really good snorkeling is to book onto Te Kings lagoon cruise. If you are interested in marine life then visit the marine research centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cromwellwandercats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We were disappointed with our stay at this property.
The staff member that met us at the airport was not friendly at all, almost grumpy.
Although he did tell us how to book a tour we requested, a telephone message was not given to us until 10pm at night even though tour company had rang at 7pm to speak to us(we were in our unit) and this almost resulted in us missing out on the excursion the next day.
The room cleaners were absolutely great, even doing our washing for us on one occasion and not wanting to accept any thank you payment.
When we complained that our unit had no hot water at all for the whole of our stay, we were listened to but offered no apology or indication that it would be fixed at all.We are very flexible but having to boil the jug so my husband could shave should not be an option when staying here. The other units did have solar panels working but not ours!
The owner did also make a good impression on us when we went into the restaurant to speak to him at 10am in the morning and he was sitting drinking beer with another local.This is not a good look, also he did not actually introduce himself at all to us when we meet him for the first time.The staff member said he was her boss!
The local staff were very helpful and friendly but the owner and his offsider did not give the service and hospitality that a property promoted by Air New Zealand should be involved with.
We would never stay there again or recommend it to anyone although the location is great and it could be a such a gem!
We loved Aitutaki and highly recommend Teking for the day island tour.The lagoon was everything we hoped for and the local people so friendly and helpful.
There is still alot of damage from the Feb cyclone and the local pre schools really appreciated the childern's books we gave them. One school, the SDA still has no building and lost completely everything.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandra12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2010

This review thing is quite new to me , but I was browsing the net and saw reviews for Popoara resort. My husband and myself have stayed there on three different occasions, starting in 2007 and also in 2008 and 2009. The owners Allen and Maria made our vacation!! Nothing was too much trouble, from finding us a coffee press for our room to baking a birthday cake for my husbands 50th. We especially liked the Boatshed resturant for intimate evening meals. If you are travelling alone or with a partner this is an ideal setting.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warmtoeshuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 5 in Aitutaki
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popoara Ocean Breeze Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popoara Ocean Breeze Villas

Property: Popoara Ocean Breeze Villas
Address: | PO Box 4, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Aitutaki
Hotel Class:2 star — Popoara Ocean Breeze Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Popoara Ocean Breeze Villas Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing