We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aitutaki Seaside
Nearby Hotels
$758
$719
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$516
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tamanu Beach(Aitutaki)
$331
$303
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Etu Moana(Aitutaki)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aitutaki Escape(Aitutaki)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rino's Motel(Aitutaki)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
58
26
3
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
26
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmiles and emmalaundry roomrental carwithin easy reachquiet surroundingsstayed here for one weekcook islandskayaks providedprivate beachdon t forgetisland lifecold beerself cateringfishmosquito netother resortswatch the sunset
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 91 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2008

We recently returned from our stay at the Aitutaki Seaside Lodges. Overall we were pretty happy with our accomodation and particularly with the friendly hosts that could not of been more helpful. We were slightly dissapointed with the fact we were put in a different bungalow, which was not one of the three advertised on the internet. Although the bungalow was not as secluded as the ones in the pictures on their web page, we were closer to town and the beach was probably a bit better for swimming.

The bungalow itself was pretty similar in every other way and it had everything we needed and was clean. We were particularly impressed with how helpful our hosts were. The day we arrived they took us to and from dinner as our hire car had not arrived yet. They also arranged to have the car dropped to our place the next morning and organised a lagoon cruise for us. We had also asked if we could use the kayaks (as they were not at our bungalow) and they arranged to have that dropped to our place aswell. Generally though the accomodation was very pleasant, particularly the views from the balcony and was big enough to accomodate us all (2 adults and a baby). It probably could do with some maintenance in a few places but it had everything we could have wanted.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Addicted2travel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Overall , an adequate stay for the price we payed. We had a budget in mind , so I have to be realistic about what to expect in comparison to some of the nicer places available in Aitutaki. If you can afford it - I recommend you stay at "Etu Moana".

If you do decide to stay Id like to make you aware of the following first:
Aitutaki is FULL of mosquitos, compared to Raro. The rooms have fly screens but ours had no fly spray. So we went and got some from the store. *A must*
The kitchen and bathroom was infested with ants. And I dont mean , when you leave something out they go crazy... There was a constant trawl of ants searching for food. *fly spray*

The rooms had good air con, a pretty good home theatre system too, but no TV reception.
* Hint : Take alot of DVDs for night time !

The kitchen was well equiped but the oven didnt work. We used the oven top alot and it was fine but the one time we went to use the inside oven - no go.

The beach out front is raked clean but a few metres either site of this nice area the whole stretch of beach is rough, washed up coral over top of most of the sand.

The "office" ,and I use this term loosely, is only open in the mornings for a couple of hours. So there isnt much facility to organise tours etc. We hired a scooter from Rhino Hire and used a telephone at the spider internet cafe to make our own bookings.

So, overall not a totally pleasant stay, but Im still quite happy not to pay double the price somewhere else. If you can find another similar priced place- give this one a miss , or try your luck!

Where ever you go. TAKE YOUR MOSQUITO REPELLANT :-)))

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Travelling_Kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

We've just returned from three weeks in the Cook Islands - Paradise! The first week was spent at Aitutaki Seaside Lodges - a choice we ending up being thrilled we made. Roro met us at the airport with a lei greeting and whisked us off to town to do some shopping and then to the lodges which are very close to the airport. The property has an excellent location right on the beach with absolutely fabulous sunsets and a lot of privacy. We could walk for long stretches without seeing anyone. We were blessed with perfect weather during our stay, so were able to make use of the kayaks and snorkelling equipment provided. Both tandem and single kayaks were available so the choice of being able to go out together or separately was always available. We found there was lots to see in terms of marine life right in front of the bungalow, but the water does get a bit clearer if you move closer to the airport. I can also attest to the friendliness and reliablity of the owner Roro who arranged a car rental for us - fun times circling the island in a convertible (highly recommended!) which was delivered to our door the day after arrival. We were even able to drive ourselves to the airport at the end of our stay and leave the car there which made it very convenient. The cost of the car rental as well was very reasonable. Our package also included the Island Night at Puffy's with fabulous food made in the umu. It was a real mix of locals and tourists which made it more enjoyable. Also included was the island lagoon, (of course, a must do when in Aitutaki) through Aitutaki Adventures. Roro was always available by phone for any other arrangements through the Spider Internet Cafe. Apart from breakfast, we dined out most nights and I can highly recommend Cafe Tupuna in the interior as an intimate dining venue. The Pacific Resort has some excellent fine dining as well but lacks the warmth of some of the other locations we visited. Can't forget Samade by the Beach as well where we spent a few afternoons having some lunch and drinks while drinking in the unbelievable beauty of the lagoon. It's the best place to swim and walk out on to the sand bar at low tide.
All in all, our experience with the Seaside Lodges was a very positive one and we highly recommend them as an accommodation option for those who enjoy privacy in a tranquil South Pacific setting.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vespe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

My husband and I honeymooned in Aitutaki and stayed at Seaside Lodges for 5 nights. Overall, we had a marvellous time and loved the laid back nature of the island and lagoon.

Solo, the owner, is extremely helpful and took us into town for groceries once we arrived. She also organised a lagoon cruise and an Island Night for us as part of the accommodation package.

The bungalow was well equipped, and had airconditioning and a nice deck out to the beach. The water is quite shallow though, and not the greatest for swimming. Kayaks and snorkling gear were also available for use, as was a guest laundry.

Our only issues were 1. as the electric water heater element was broken, we could only have hot showers in the late afternoon when the water had been warmed through solar heating, and 2. our bungalow wasn't serviced whilst we were there... not a biggie as we are tidy people.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Yes, the 3 properties are quite close to the airport (about a 10-min drive) but aircraft noise is absolutely not a problem, and on Sundays no flights operate anyway.

We arrived on a morning flight from Rarotonga on Fri, 31 Mar and stayed till 1700 hrs on Tues, 4 April. Note: Seaside Lodges are totally flexible on arrivals and departures and did not charge us extra to keep our bungalow until leaving for the airport at 1530 hrs.

Frankly, we were glad to leave Raro after a 5-day stay where we'd had some torrential rain and the sky was again clouding over (apparently, it continued to have heavy downpours whilst we were away), but we landed in Aitu just 50 mins later under a cloudless blue sky which remained that way. It was fabulous and as you approach Aitu the view of island and its triangular lagoon is absolutely stunning - it's worth the cost of the flight just to see it!

As with the other reviewers, Roro met us at the airport and was a darling, so warm and friendly and very different from the manageress of the Lagoon Lodges where we'd stayed in Rarotonga . Roro gave us a brief tour round the island stopping off at the supermarket-cum-internet cafe which she and Solo own, the harbour, and a little market. We did some immediate shopping then she took us to our Lodge, the beauty and tranquility of the location was just breathtaking. By now, it was getting pretty hot so walking into the air-conditioned room was absolute bliss. The place was spotlesssly clean and very well-equipped. She lent us some CDs and DVDs as reception on the one and only local radio and TV channel is poor/bad, and restaurants close around 9PM.

Roro also organised a scooter for us which arrived before we'd finished unpacking, and booked us a tour of the islands for the following day and Solo brought us a big bag of freshly baked banana donuts to take along on the trip. During our stay, we were kept supplied with regular deliveries of bananas and water.

The scooter is an essential on the island not because things are far away - Aitu isn't that big so nothing is far anyway - but it's the only way to get some cool air blowing around in the hot temperatures outside. Humidity was high when we were there and stepping out onto the balcony from an air-conditioned interior was just like walking into a very warm oven.

When we arrived we had the place to ourselves for 3 days which was lovely. We went kayaking in the morning before it got too hot, then later we'd go off on the scooter ending up at Samade on the Beach for a drink and a swim. We also went to the Island night there on the Sunday evening - they were very friendly and had great music.

We had a fabulous stay at the Seaside Lodges and cannot thank Roro and Solo enough for their kindness and hospitality. We wish them the best and hope they do really well.

For information, they were also building another 3 properties just up the road closer to Etu Moana which are probably finshed by now.


  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank haar0064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews