We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon (2012!)”
Review of Aitutaki Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aitutaki Village
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon (2012!)”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I just realized that I never wrote a review after staying here on our honeymoon in November 2012! (The TA review page won't let me enter this date which is why it says Nov 2013). Better late than never so here it is:
We LOVED Samade on the Beach! The location on the lagoon is amazing, the staff were wonderful (thanks Alone, Chanel and Ned!), the Island Night was so much fun and our little cabin was simple but clean and lovely. Come here expecting simplicity and relaxation. This isn't a resort and doesn't have anything overly fancy so if you're looking for luxury you should stay on the other side of the island. There are a lot of chickens roaming the island so I would pack ear plugs if you don't want to be woken up by them in the morning. We stayed for 8 nights and they were the best 8 nights of our entire honeymoon. We spent the most of our days laying on our beach chairs, using the stand up paddle boards, and swimming in the warm water. The island is really fun and easy to explore by scooter and there's a rental place just up the road. Make sure you experience an Island night and which was the most fun and authentic one we saw on all of the Cooks! Aitutaki is Heaven on Earth and everyone should visit at least once.

Room Tip: The cabins are all set beck from the beach and are in two rows facing in towards a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    62
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
101
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This has been a long time coming.
Mark and I were married in Aitutaki at Etu Moana 4th November 2013 (review under Wedding/Honeymoon).
The evening after our wedding we had booked Island Night at Samades with family and friends. Thomas, Lexie, Elaine and all the staff were just wonderful. We booked via email before we left Australia, everything was so easy, nothing was a problem.
The food was wonderful, entertainment was brilliant and so much fun, they had many of us up dancing. Our party of 16 thoroughly enjoyed themselves.
We and others of our group, some who did stay at Samades, were always welcomed with a smile, service was always good and friendly, with the staff going out of there way to make us feel at home. What more can I say. Do not miss out on Island Night at Samades, you will have a wonderful evening.
Simone and Mark

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamadeBeach, Owner at Aitutaki Village, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Kia orana from Aitutaki,
We are thrilled that you and your wedding party enjoyed our Tuesday Island Night including the dancing and floor show by our Village Cultural Group. Team Samade strives to ensure all guests recieve that wonderful Aitutaki hospitality and local experiences.
We hope one day that we will be in a position to host you again
All the very best and many thanks....
Team Samade / THOMAS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We are a couple in our late twenties who stayed 4 nights at Samade whilst in Aitutaki for a wedding. We were welcomed by a Samade staff member at the airport and once back at the hotel (2mins frm airport) were given a cocktail and shown to our unit. The aircon is the best after a hot day on the beach and kitchenette meant we could keep drinks etc onhand. Bed is very comfortable also and we had great sleeps whilst here. Samade is right on the beach and has the most spectacular views. Location is awesome with cafés within a 2min walk.
We made use of the complimentary kayaks and paddleboards which were a lot of fun. The service was amazing and all staff were friendly and very helpful in sorting out scooter hire etc.
Only small downside was the shower water pressure was not that good.

We will definitely stay here again if we come back to Aitutaki.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamadeBeach, Owner at Aitutaki Village, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Kia Orana From Aitutaki,
Many thanks for your positive review of Samade on the Beach. We are certainly blessed with a great location. The Samade Team strives to provide the best Aitutaki experiences to all our visitors and such a positive review has been well accepted by the team with enthusiasm and appreciation. FYI we are about to start work on upgrading our water catchment and distribution network and when finished will take care of those water pressure issues that are challenging us.
We look forward to your return in the not too distant future.
Kindest Regards......
Team Samade / THOMAS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Samade on the beach has the best location in the whole of Aitutaki. Beautiful sandy beach side of aituaki lagoon with swimming in the channel right in front of the place at high or low tides. The stunning lagoon to look at day and night and the wonderful restaurant. The paddleboards and kayaks were awesome. Tomas and staff were very friendly and helpful. The fresh flowers and cold coconuts on arrival were a pleasure.
Samade has 3 great eating places within a few minutes walk.
If I go back to Aitutaki I am definitely staying at the Samade. Tomas is continuing upgrades which will be so great. The air con is fabulous and the beds were very comfortable. The sun loungers probably have one of the best views in the world.
I rated a 4 star, rather than 5 because the shower was often a dribble. And on the first night our kids had to share a double bed as they had not set up the two beds. I strongly suggest you do not stay in cabin 1 or 2. These are next to the road - which is quiet as it is a sandy road. But we were kept awake to 2am one morning while locals had a chat in the carpark next to these units. Take your earplugs for the roosters - which are everywhere on the island.
But we will be back.

Room Tip: NOT 1 or 2 as they are closest to the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamadeBeach, Owner at Aitutaki Village, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Kia Orana from Aitutaki,
Many thanks for your kind review on our property. We are delighted that your experiences of our island have instilled a positive response and we look forward to your return.
Kindest Regards & Best Wishes.....
THOMAS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

First off i must say of the tropical places on this planet i have visited -Aitutaki is the best in many ways. When staying on Aitutaki i was looking for a comfortable place to stay that was convenient to what i wanted to do, and a place that felt like a local resort. Samade delivered in all ways and was a better experience than i even expected.

Crisp clean sheets on the bed, flowers everywhere in the room and a chilled coconut on arrival. Every morning i had a great breakfast and heaps of NZ bacon for breakfast while looking out over the lagoon. At Samade you can actually get in the water every day all day right off the beach. Some of the other hotels have issues at low tide, so be careful about those.

The bungalows are clean and the fans and A/C give you a nice respite at the end of the day. I slept really well here. Yes there are roosters all over Aitutaki to greet the day. Keep the windows closed and the A/C on and you'll never know they are there until you wake up.

Thomas is the caring owner and briefed me about my stay and about the property on arrival. His right arm is Elaine who picked me up, dropped me off, and answered all my questions. They care about their guests and it shows.

On occasion the restaurant might be out of something-thats because the whole island might be out of something. They live at the end of a logistical shoe string so be expecting that to happen on occasion.

Room Tip: all bungalows about 20 steps from the beach. very safe island and property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTravelRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamadeBeach, Owner at Aitutaki Village, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Kia Orana Rod,
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. I have shared this with the team and they have all said 'hi to Rod & thanks!'. Our shorftfalls regarding supplies is something that we are addressing as an industry and we will be putting in place measures to minimise our challenges in this regard. Thanks for sharing your stories about your stay on One Foot Island, especially about the cats catching their own fish.......I certainly wish to witness this sometime.
We trust you have arrived home safely....all the very best until we see you next time you visit us.
Kia Manuia.....THOMAS & Team Samade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a great holiday at samade - v helpful and happy staff, fabulous swimming and watersports just in front of the restaurant and a brilliant day cruise with bishops. Reccomend samade. For visitors to the island it is good to brig along snacks and healthy foods if possible as lots of takeaway and heavy sauces - perhaps the good is better in summer when more fresh fruit and vege available.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenBeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamadeBeach, Owner at Aitutaki Village, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Kia Orana,
We are delighted that your honeymoon with us was a memorable experience and that you enjoyed our services and facilities. Thank you for your kind words and again, please excuse our shortfulls regarding fresh produce.....this is something we are addressing collectively within the industry to ensure we minimise these challenges for the future.
Aitutaki is a special place and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future.
Kia Manuia.....THOMAS & Team Samade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Big 'mai take' to Lexie, Elaine, Thomas and all the crew at Samade for making our first trip to Aitutaki an unforgettable one! The most important thing for us is the staff making us feel welcome and they did that amazingly well - even with a few renovations happening at the same time! Rooms were clean and tidy. Air-con a blessing! Weather perfect. Coconuts with straws - ice cold! Food was actually very good. Fresh and filling! (Samade Burger a must try!). Continental breakfasts were very good and provided a great start to the day..The kids sure do miss high tide swimming on the lagoon! Organizing the car rental and lagoon cruise was done quickly and easily through the staff. We would definitely come back...

Room Tip: they are all very clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfreundlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamadeBeach, Owner at Aitutaki Village, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Kia Orana......
Meitaki Atupaka for you kind and positive comments about your recent stay with us. We enjoyed having you and your family here and it was a pleasure watching you all enjoy the lagoon and our facilities....especially the children. We are working hard to finish our 'makeover' of the property for your enjoyment next time you bless our shores. I have shared your comments with the Team and they are most grateful for your kind words.
Meitaki again and all the best until next time....
THOMAS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
2.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
448 reviews
1.8 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
903 reviews
1.7 mi away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 5 in Aitutaki
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Village

Property: Aitutaki Village
Address: Ootu Beach | PO Box 75, Cook Islands (Formerly Samade on the Beach)
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aitutaki Village 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aitutaki Village is a small boutique resort on Aitutaki in the Cook Islands. Situated on the white sandy beach of Ootu (meaning full moon) on the south western point of the island. The property provides a quiet and relaxing environment on the edge of the protected Aitutaki lagoon, ideal for swimming and water activities at all tides.The Polynesian inspired restaurant and bar has stunning views and is located on the lagoons edge. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is available everyday, we also offer special dinner evenings, lagoon cruises, private island excursions, rental vehicles, kayaks and island tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aitutaki Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samade On The Beach Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing