We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our little taste of Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aitutaki Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aitutaki Village
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our little taste of Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Many thanks to Thomas and Elaine at the Samade on the Beach Resort. you looked after us so well. Accommodation was great....very comfy bed, fluffy towels, air conditioned with a ceiling fan....we were in Paradise. We were warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. The setting of this resort is wonderful (I miss it very much....having my cocktail and watching the sun set over the beautiful lagoon).
Food was amazing, well presented, and served by your lovely staff who made us feel like they wanted us there, like family!
This is not a 5 * resort but it is definately 5 * quality and would recommend you to anyone who wants to experience Aitutaki and its hospitality.....well done and many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamadeBeach, Owner at Aitutaki Village, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Kia Orana Sonia,

It was indeed a pleasure having you here for your holiday and we are delighted that you had a great time and wonderful experiences of Aitutaki. Thank you for your positive comments....I have passed these on to the Samade Team….and they all send their fondest regards to you.
Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to Samade at some time in the future.

Cheers…..
THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    54
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
92
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I spent 5 nights at Samade and was very pleased. Service, views and food was all such a great experience. Having a cold beer outside and seeing all that lagoon was unforgettable experience.

Will be there again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matej78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamadeBeach, Owner at Aitutaki Village, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Kia Orana,
Many thanks for your positive review which I have shared with the Samade Team. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had great experiences if Aitutaki.
We look forward to welcoming you back to 'heaven on earth'.
Meitaki Atupaka....Best Regards.....
THOMAS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Wonderful stay, with friendly staff. and great Food cooked by the owner Tomas. The local people were always, pleasant and happy to chat. The sea was so warm to swim in and very clear and clean. Snorkelling areas were easy to access, but the best spots were on the lagoon cruises.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Lovely hosts and fantastic food. Sweet bungalows all beside the world's best Lagoon.Heaven on Earth.
This is Polynesian Hospitality at its best and the food was much better than expected. We felt so very warmly welcomed and enjoyed loved our stay.

Room Tip: Small place so I imagine that all the rooms are pretty quiet and private-
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnniMoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have just returned from Aitutaki and had the most wonderful time.
We were met by Elaine at the airport for the five minute drive to the resort. Don't be put off that this resort is so close to the airport.
The accommodation is not the best and is somewhat tired and dated but what it lacks in luxury is more than made up by the location and the staff.
The resort is under new management and at the time we stayed a new floor was being put down in the bar and Thomas, the owner, was very apologetic that we had to have our meals out on the beach under the palm trees for one day. Oh dear what a shame!!! Absolutely not, people pay a fortune to do this and we did suggest that he continue to do so but he was not convinced!
The breakfast of beautiful fresh fruit, pancakes and toast was more than adequate.
The menu did not have much choice but what we had was delicious though if you stayed for more than three nights you would be bored with it.
The bbq night was a disappointment as it was not a bbq and all cooked in the kitchen but still good just not what we expected for a bbq and there was no entertainment.
The location is really beautiful and we thought the best on the island. The lagoon is calm and lovely to swim in with lots of fish to be seen.
We did the lagoon cruise with Bishops and I could not speak highly enough of this wonderful day, one of the best days of my life. I thought the Great Barrier Reef was good but this was so much better, Warm, calm water, so many fish, huge calms, turtles and feeding the huge trevally - George with the big lips.
As it was Christmas holiday time all the cars were rented out to locals and so our only option if we wanted to see the island was a moped hired from the Boat Shed down the road. My husband has not been on a motorbike for more than 40 years and after a wobbly start we really enjoyed our day and saw all the island. I would suggest booking a car before you get there if you go at peak times.
A really wonderful stay with some of the friendliest people I have ever met.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My partner and I recently took our first trip to the Cook Islands before his Australian visa expired as he had seen Aitutaki on a Swedish(go figure) travel show when he was younger and it had been a dream of his ever since to visit this island.
We looked at a range of accommodation for Aitutaki and ended up choosing Samade on the Beach as it was much more affordable then most on the island and had apparently a great location and to say the least we were not disappointed!!
The huts we stayed in were clean, spacious, the location was infact absoulutly beautiful - waking up every morning to that view of the lagoon was magnificent, Thomas and his staff were so friendly and helpful and went right out of they're way for any requests! When I arrived I asked one of the ladies if they did any cocktails in coconuts as I had been looking all over Rarotonga for one, (typical tourist in the South Pacific) he replied they don't, but she said leave it with her, she'll arrange it and get one made just for me. Small things like this really make a great difference with service and it was excellent to see the staff at Samade go out of their way for you.
The buffet breakfast was great every morning, do not miss out on the passion fruit pancakes, they were so delicious!
We also took the Bishops lagoon cruise that Samade organised for us, which was perhaps the best day we had on the island. The staff were halerious, friendly and great entertainment. Took us to some amazing snorkel sites (which I actually preferred to the Great Barrier Reef which I did earlier this year) and got to swim with the Giant Trevelli Fish! (100% must do!!!! Amazing experience) Lunch on One Foot Island was hearty, plentiful and delicious.
Overall I 100% recommend Samade on the Beach and was overjoyed by our random choice of accommodation. Thank you from the bottom of my heart Thomas and all his staff for making our experience one of the best international travel trips I have taken so far, I hope to return someday!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasminekenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabri, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

It had been 12 long years since I had been home and this time I took my husband. Instantly I knew that he had to witness the beauty of our island from the best spot possible, and Samade was it! The rooms are very clean, comfortable, with air conditioning, kitchenette, hot water and King size bedding.
The staff are second to none, they really do make you feel like you have come home. We stayed here for two weeks, which wasn't long enough in our view. The location has and always will be amazing! It is the best swimming beach on the island, with snorkelling spots all within an easy distance, you can either walk along the sandbars around to the marine reserve at Akitua, or hire a scooter and head for the end of the runway which has awesome snorkelling.
They are currently renovating, but it in no way interrupts your holiday, it is a necessity that the new owners are undertaking to make this place even more special and when it is done you will value this place even more.
So to Thomas, Teina and all the staff, you know who you are, from my husband and I, we wish you all the very best and thank you for making our holiday and my husbands first visit home an amazing one.
Kia Orana e Kia Manuia

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Moe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
2.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rino's Motel
Rino's Motel
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Village

Property: Aitutaki Village
Address: Ootu Beach | PO Box 75, Cook Islands (Formerly Samade on the Beach)
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aitutaki Village 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aitutaki Village is a small boutique resort on Aitutaki in the Cook Islands. Situated on the white sandy beach of Ootu (meaning full moon) on the south western point of the island. The property provides a quiet and relaxing environment on the edge of the protected Aitutaki lagoon, ideal for swimming and water activities at all tides.The Polynesian inspired restaurant and bar has stunning views and is located on the lagoons edge. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is available everyday, we also offer special dinner evenings, lagoon cruises, private island excursions, rental vehicles, kayaks and island tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Aitutaki Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samade On The Beach Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing